Your cart

Close

Total AUD

Checkout

Imprint

  • Hodder Paperbacks
  • Hodder & Stoughton

Cautionary Tales

Chris Addison

8 Reviews

Rated 0

Fiction, Humour, Cartoons & comic strips

Introducing a brilliant new talent to Christmas humour books Chris Addison's Cautionary Tales for Grown-ups will appeal to fans of Andy Riley and Ricky Gervais.

These are dark days. The world is seething with imbeciles and poltroons. Everywhere the careless and thoughtless are charging about the place in hulking 4x4s, or inviting Channel 4 to come around rather than clean their own homes. So comedian Chris Addison has written CAUTIONARY TALES FOR GROWN-UPS poems to illustrate the dangers of modern behaviour.

The tales include:

* The Gloucestershire Horse Club, Who posed Naked for a Charity Calendar.
* Phillip, who talked only in Management Speak
* Myfanwy, Who answered an Email from a Nigerian Bank Manager
* and Fiona and Dave, who had a Wacky Wedding

Sparklingly wicked and cunningly illustrated, this is a hilarious Struwelpeter for the twenty-first century.

Read More Read Less

Praise for Cautionary Tales

  • Extremely funny - Stephanie Merritt, Observer

  • What could be more pleasing than to see annoying types getting their richly-deserved comeuppance? . . . Neatly and cruelly done and ingeniously rhymed - Oliver Pritchett, Sunday Telegraph

  • His scathing wit deserves comic-laureate status. - The Sunday Times on Chris Addison

  • The country's most erudite young stand-up. - Guardian on Chris Addison

  • There aren't enough stars for Addison's show: he is erudite but not inaccessible or superior; confident withouth being arrogant, and the show is so well written and sharp that you will bore your friends for days afterwards quoting memorable lines from it. - Stephanie Merritt, Observer

  • A clever sod. - Metro

  • A load of Bellocs - and in a good way ... recommended - Dave Crozier, Hampstead and Highgate

  • Shockingly good ... spot-on - The Leeds Guide

Read More Read Less

Chris Addison

Chris Addison is an acclaimed stand-up comic and actor. He has been twice-nominated for the Perrier Award at the Edinburgh Festival and twice-nominated for the Barry Humphries Award at the Melbourne International Comedy Festival. In December 2005 he was nominated for Best Newcomer at the British Comedy Awards for his role in the BBC's political satire, The Thick Of It. He writes for the Guardian and The Times. This is his second book.

This website uses cookies. Using this website means you are okay with this but you can find out more and learn how to manage your cookie choices here.Close cookie policy overlay