Your cart

Close

Total AUD

Checkout

Imprint

  • Sphere
  • Sphere
  • Sphere

The Crooked House

Christobel Kent

6 Reviews

Rated 0

Fiction, Crime & mystery, Thriller / suspense

A stunning, dark and suspenseful psychological thriller that follows one woman's search for the truth about her tragic family history; perfect for fans of The Girl on the Train and Apple Tree Yard.

One fateful night. One unthinkable family tragedy. One survivor. This is Alison's story.

Alison is as close to anonymous as she can get: with no ties and a backroom job, hers is a life lived under the radar. But once Alison was someone else: once she was Esme, a teenager whose bedroom sat at the top of a remote house on a bleak estuary. A girl whose family, if not happy, exactly, was no unhappier than anyone else's - or so she thought.

Then one night violence was unleashed in the crooked house, in a nightmare that only Alison survived and from which she's been running ever since. Only when she falls for the charismatic Paul does Alison realise that to have any chance of happiness, she must return to her old life and face a closed community full of dark secrets.

As she seeks to uncover the truth of what happened that terrible night, Alison begins to question everything she thought she knew. Is there anyone she can trust?

Read More Read Less

Praise for The Crooked House

  • An utterly compulsive psychological thriller. I loved it. - SJ Watson author of Before I Go to Sleep on THE CROOKED HOUSE

  • Brilliant...A spooky, gripping and affecting story. - Louise Doughty, author of APPLE TREE YARD in the Guardian

  • Demands to be devoured in one sitting. - Good Housekeeping

  • Atmospheric and eerily menacing, this cracking psychological thriller demands to be read with all the lights on. - Psychologies Magazine on The CROOKED HOUSE

  • Compulsive, unsettling and scary as hell. - Sunday Mirror

  • Echoes of Christie and du Maurier in this fine thriller - Sunday Times

Read More Read Less

Christobel Kent

Christobel Kent was born in London and educated at Cambridge. She has lived variously in Essex, London and Italy. Her childhood included several years spent on a Thames sailing barge in Maldon, Essex with her father, stepmother, three siblings and four step-siblings. She now lives in both Cambridge and Florence with her husband and five children.