Your cart

Close

Total AUD

Checkout

Imprint

  • Sphere
  • Sphere
  • Sphere
  • Sphere

The Crooked House

Christobel Kent

15 Reviews

Rated 0

Fiction, Crime & mystery, Thriller / suspense

A stunning, dark and suspenseful psychological thriller that follows one woman's search for the truth about her tragic family history; perfect for fans of The Girl on the Train and Apple Tree Yard.

One fateful night. One unthinkable family tragedy. One survivor. This is Alison's story.

Alison is as close to anonymous as she can get: with no ties and a backroom job, hers is a life lived under the radar. But once Alison was someone else: once she was Esme, a teenager whose bedroom sat at the top of a remote house on a bleak estuary. A girl whose family, if not happy, exactly, was no unhappier than anyone else's - or so she thought.

Then one night violence was unleashed in the crooked house, in a nightmare that only Alison survived and from which she's been running ever since. Only when she falls for the charismatic Paul does Alison realise that to have any chance of happiness, she must return to her old life and face a closed community full of dark secrets.

As she seeks to uncover the truth of what happened that terrible night, Alison begins to question everything she thought she knew. Is there anyone she can trust?

Read More Read Less

Praise for The Crooked House

  • An utterly compulsive psychological thriller. I loved it. - SJ Watson author of Before I Go to Sleep on THE CROOKED HOUSE

  • Brilliant...A spooky, gripping and affecting story. - Louise Doughty, author of APPLE TREE YARD in the Guardian

  • Demands to be devoured in one sitting. - Good Housekeeping

  • Atmospheric and eerily menacing, this cracking psychological thriller demands to be read with all the lights on. - Psychologies Magazine on The CROOKED HOUSE

  • Compulsive, unsettling and scary as hell. - Sunday Mirror

  • Echoes of Christie and du Maurier in this fine thriller - Sunday Times

  • THE CROOKED HOUSE is a brilliant read, dark and vivid and almost unbearably suspenseful with an atmospheric setting in the wild estuary village and a sense of menace and claustrophobia as the local community clings to its secrets. - Cath Staincliffe, author of Witness

  • Atmospheric and eerily menacing, this cracking psychological thriller demands to be read with all the lights on. - Psychologies Magazine on THE CROOKED HOUSE

  • An irresistibly evocative tale of secrets past and present. - YOU Magazine on Late Season

  • I loved this book and hated putting it down. It is both a taut thriller and a beautifully observed story of a young woman's coming of age. Michael Dibdin meets Muriel Spark. - Allison Pearson on A Time of Mourning

  • THE CROOKED HOUSE is a psychological page-turner imbued with depth and humanity. Broadchurch meets Rebecca. I simply loved it. - Allison Pearson, bestselling author of I Don t Know How She Does It

  • 'A tense, gripping thriller, and utterly compulsive. I loved it' - SJ Watson author of Before I Go to Sleep

  • Rich atmospherics and fully realized characters combine with a deceptively simple puzzle in this outstanding mystery. - Publishers Weekly on A Fine and Private Place

  • Elaborate and convincing... I gobbled it up - how could one help it? Such a potent sense of place and such gripping events. - Diana Athill on A Time of Mourning

  • A gripping thriller, beautifully unfolded, with gorgeous, evocative writing. It builds to a shattering climax and there's an eerie sense of place that cleverly captures the particular claustrophobia that wide open spaces can provoke. - Erin Kelly, bestselling author of The Poison Tree on THE CROOKED HOUSE

Read More Read Less

Christobel Kent

Christobel Kent was born in London and educated at Cambridge. She has lived variously in Essex, London and Italy. Her childhood included several years spent on a Thames sailing barge in Maldon, Essex with her father, stepmother, three siblings and four step-siblings. She now lives in both Cambridge and Florence with her husband and five children.