Your cart

Close

Total AUD

Checkout

Imprint

  • Gollancz
  • Gollancz
  • Gollancz
  • Gollancz

Demon in White: Book Three

Christopher Ruocchio

3 Reviews

Rated 0

Science fiction, Space opera, Science fiction (Children's / Teenage)

Hadrian Marlowe may be revered as a hero and despised as a murderer, but there's only one way to hear his true story: relayed in his own words, in this incredible fusion of space opera and epic fantasy.

The third novel of the galaxy-spanning Sun Eater series merges the best of space opera and epic fantasy, as Hadrian Marlowe continues down a path that can only end in fire.

Hadrian and his Red Company have been serving the Empire in military engagements against the Cielcin, the vicious alien civilisation bent on humanity's destruction. And they've been successful: a cult-like fervour building around following a particularly impressive victory. but popularity comes as a price: an assassination attempt, triggered by those within the Imperial government who are scared of his rise to prominence.

Now the Empire has turned dangerous, Hadrian and his crew leave to pursue his true interest: a search for a long-rumoured connection between the first Emperor and the Quiet, the ancient, seemingly long-dead race. And he will find the next key to unlocking their secrets in a massive library on a distant world.

The coordinates for their origin planet.

A planet that no longer holds life, but may still contain answers.

'Empire of Silence is epic science fiction at its most genuinely epic. Ruocchio has made something fascinating here, and I can't wait to see what he does next' James S.A. Corey, New York Times-bestselling author of The Expanse novels

'Empire of Silence is a rich tapestry of future history and worldbuilding, a galactic-sized story of a hero, a tyrant, but portrayed as a man' Kevin J. Anderson, New York Times-bestselling author of The Dark Between the Stars

Read More Read Less

Praise for Demon in White: Book Three

  • Space opera fans will savor the rich details of Ruocchio's far-future debut. - Publisher's Weekly on Empire of Silence

  • If you can't decide whether to go for science fiction or fantasy with your first summer read, might we recommend Empire of Silence. - Den of Geek on Empire of Silence

  • One of the most enjoyable SF debuts I've read in a long while. Think Dune mixed with Gene Wolfe's Shadow of the Torturer series, but for a contemporary readership... celebrates all of the joy and the sheer enthusiasm of old-fashioned Space Opera. - SFF World on Empire of Silence

Read More Read Less

Christopher Ruocchio

Christopher Ruocchio is a novelist writing in the tradition of Dune and The Book of the New Sun. He is an editorial assistant working for a US publishing house, and lives in North Carolina, USA.

You can learn more at cruoochio.wordpress.com or by following @CPRuocchio on twitter.

This website uses cookies. Using this website means you are okay with this but you can find out more and learn how to manage your cookie choices here.Close cookie policy overlay