Your cart

Close

Total AUD

Checkout

Imprint

  • Hodder Paperbacks
  • Hodder & Stoughton
  • Hodder & Stoughton

All the Hidden Truths: one shocking crime: three women need answers

Claire Askew

8 Reviews

Rated 0

Crime & mystery, Thriller / suspense

A wrenching, gripping, unforgettable debut crime novel for fans of Susie Steiner and Kate Atkinson.

In the aftermath of a tragedy, the world needs an explanation.

In Edinburgh, after the Three Rivers College shooting, some things are clear.

They know who. They know when.

No one can say why.

For three women the lack of answers is unbearable: DI Helen Birch, the detective charged with solving the case. Ishbel, the mother of the first victim, struggling to cope with her grief. And Moira, mother of the killer, who needs to understand what happened to her son.

But as people search for someone to blame, the truth seems to vanish...

From a prizewinning poet, ALL THE HIDDEN TRUTHS is a searing, compelling and powerful debut.

'As scarily plausible as it is utterly captivating, this is an absorbing and unforgettable debut.' Heat

'Raw, powerful, compassionate and deeply moving, with page-turning tension to the end. A stunning debut.' Karen Robinson, Sunday Times Crime Club

'You'll be gripped by the unexpected truths that emerge. Compelling.' Marie Claire

Read More Read Less

Praise for All the Hidden Truths: one shocking crime: three women need answers

  • Stunning debut... compellingly written. - Daily Mail

  • Gripping, heartbreaking and horrifyingly plausible. I couldn't tear myself away from this book. Claire Askew is a stunning new voice in crime fiction.

  • Splendid debut... thoughtful and well-written. - Guardian

  • This is a such a clever, brave book. Askew looks unflinchingly at the unimaginable, but her writing is wrought with compassion. It's as heart-rending as it is gripping.

  • Moving and memorable. - The Sunday Times

  • Raw, powerful, compassionate and deeply moving, with page-turning tension to the end. A stunning debut.

  • Claire Askew takes us away from the obvious plot and asks us tantalising questions... the three women... form an absorbing psychological trio for Askew's thought-provoking, upsetting entry into crime fiction. - The Times

  • (a) Fine, thought-provoking debut - Mail on Sunday

Read More Read Less

Claire Askew

Claire Askew is a poet, novelist and the current Writer in Residence at the University of Edinburgh. Her debut novel in progress was the winner of the 2016 Lucy Cavendish Fiction Prize, and longlisted for the 2014 Peggy Chapman-Andrews (Bridport) Novel Award. Claire holds a PhD in Creative Writing from the University of Edinburgh and has won a variety of accolades for her work, including the Jessie Kesson Fellowship and a Scottish Book Trust New Writers Award.

Her debut poetry collection, This changes things, was published by Bloodaxe in 2016 and shortlisted for the Edwin Morgan Poetry Award and a Saltire First Book Award. In 2016 Claire was selected as a Scottish Book Trust Reading Champion, and she works as the Scotland tutor for women's writing initiatives Write Like A Grrrl! and #GrrrlCon.

This website uses cookies. Using this website means you are okay with this but you can find out more and learn how to manage your cookie choices here.Close cookie policy overlay