Your cart

Close

Total AUD

Checkout

Imprint

  • Virago
  • Virago
  • Virago
  • Virago

Jamaica Inn

Daphne Du Maurier

4 Reviews

Rated 0

Virago Modern Classics, Fiction, Modern & contemporary fiction (post c 1945), Classic fiction (pre c 1945), Classic crime, Classic fiction (Children's / Teenage)

This unforgettable story of murder, mystery and passion by one of the best-loved writers of the twentieth century is perfect for a teenage market. Rebecca, Jamaica Inn and Frenchman's Creek are now available for the first time in YA editions.

In the bitter November wind, Mary Yellan crosses Bodmin Moor to Jamaica Inn. Her mother's dying wish was that she take refuge there, with her Aunt Patience. But when Mary arrives, the warning of the coachman echoes in her mind: Jamaica Inn has a desolate power, and behind it's crumbling walls Patience is a changed woman, cowering before her brooding, violent husband. When Mary discovers the inn's dark secrets, the truth is more terrifying than anything she could possibly imagine, and she is forced to collude in her uncle's murderous schemes. Against her will, she finds herself powerfully attracted to her uncle's brother, a man she dares not trust.

Read More Read Less

Praise for Jamaica Inn

  • A perfect fusion of gothic romance and a young woman's rite of passage in the vein of Twilight and Wuthering Heights - Independent

  • A dark tale. A brilliant thriller - Daily Express

  • Jamaica Inn is a first-rate page-turner - The Times

  • Daphne du Maurier has no equal - Sunday Telegraph

Read More Read Less

Discover more

Left
loading...

My Cousin Rachel by Daphne Du Maurier | Movie Trailer

Right
Left
loading...

My Cousin Rachel by Daphne Du Maurier | Movie Trailer

Right

Daphne Du Maurier

Daphne du Maurier (1907-89) was born in London, educated at home and in Paris, and lived for much of her life in her beloved Cornwall, the setting for many of her novels. Most of her novels have been bestsellers and many have been made into films. She is considered one of the most accomplished novelists of the twentieth century.

This website uses cookies. Using this website means you are okay with this but you can find out more and learn how to manage your cookie choices here.Close cookie policy overlay