Your cart

Close

Total AUD

Checkout

Imprint

  • Headline
  • Headline

Kids of Appetite

David Arnold

5 Reviews

Rated 0

Fiction, Modern & contemporary fiction (post c 1945), Children's Fiction

A powerful and funny young adult novel that mediates on loss, love and disability for fans of Jennifer Niven, Rainbow Rowell and Louise O'Neill.

KIDS OF APPETITE by David Arnold is a tragicomedy of first love and devastating loss.

In the Hackensack Police Department, Vic Benucci and his friend Mad are explaining how they found themselves wrapped up in a grisly murder. But in order to tell that story, they have to go way back...

It all started when Vic's dad died. Vic's dad was his best friend, and even now, two years later, he can't bring himself to touch the Untouchable Urn of Oblivion that sits in his front hall. But one cold December day, Vic falls in with an alluring band of kids that wander his New Jersey neighbourhood, including Mad, the girl who changes everything. Along with his newfound friendships comes the courage to open his father's urn, the discovery of the message inside, and the epic journey it sparks.

Read More Read Less

Praise for Kids of Appetite

  • Praise of Mosquitoland: [Mosquitoland] boasts a funny, gutsy, straight-talking heroine with a distinctive voice, whose company is a blast of fresh air - Daily Mail

  • At times heartwarming, heartbreaking and hilarious, but always maintaining a distinctly innocent brilliance - USA Today

  • Invigorating and humourous... At last a Kerouacian adventure for teenage girls - Independent

  • [A] sparkling, startling, laugh-out-loud debut novel - Wall Street Journal

  • Fresh and often very endearing - Sunday Herald

Read More Read Less

David Arnold

David Arnold lives in Lexington, Kentucky, with his (lovely) wife and (boisterous) son. Previous jobs include freelance musician/producer, stay-at-home dad, and preschool teacher. He is a fierce believer in the power of kindness and community. And chips. He believes fiercely in chips. Mosquitoland is his first novel.

You can learn more at davidarnoldbooks.com and follow him on Twitter @roofbeam.

This website uses cookies. Using this website means you are okay with this but you can find out more and learn how to manage your cookie choices here.Close cookie policy overlay