Your cart


Total AUD



  • Mulholland Books

A Bad Death: A DS McAvoy short story

David Mark

6 Reviews

Rated 0

Ds Mcavoy, Prose: non-fiction, Fiction, Crime & mystery, Short stories, Gift books

An exclusive ebook short story in the bestselling DS McAvoy series: the compelling tale of a bad death and the bad things that happened after...

A gripping short story in the DS McAvoy series by David Mark, bestselling author of the Richard & Judy pick DARK WINTER. A Bad Death takes place between books 4 and 5 in the DS McAvoy series,Taking Pity and Dead Pretty.

Will Blaylock died while on day release from prison.

It was a bad death. But accidents will happen.

Detective Sergeant McAvoy isn't convinced, though. And he owes a debt to Will's cellmate Owen Swainson: a debt formed in blood and fear when they came together to catch a killer.

But their search for a murderer will rip open old wounds, and force old enemies out of hiding...

Read More Read Less

Praise for A Bad Death: A DS McAvoy short story

  • In terms of food analogies, some books are bland or subtly flavoured, while others are like a fiery curry. David Mark's DS McAvoy books are unarguably in the latter category - Independent

  • David Mark is an original and captivating new voice

  • One of the darkest of the new faces in British crime writing, and not one to miss - Daily Mail

  • Mark is rapidly becoming one of my favourite crime writers...[He] will be giving McDermid, McBride and Billingham a run for their money - Crimewarp

  • Sophisticated plotting, in-depth characters, and sharp dialogue...Fans of John Harvey and Peter James will find much to like - Publishers Weekly

  • David Mark has the potential to be one of the stars of British crime writing - Shotsmag

Read More Read Less

David Mark

David spent more than fifteen years as a journalist, including seven years as a crime reporter with the Yorkshire Post - walking the Hull streets that would later become the setting for the Detective Sergeant Aector McAvoy novels.

He has written eight novels in the McAvoy series: Dark Winter, Original Skin, Sorrow Bound, Taking Pity, Dead Pretty, Cruel Mercy, and Scorched Earth as well as two McAvoy ebook short stories, A Bad Death and Fire of Lies. Dark Winter was selected for the Harrogate New Blood panel and was a Richard & Judy pick and a Sunday Times bestseller. In 2018 it was adapted for the stage at the Hull Truck Theatre and had a sellout debut run. David has also written The Zealot's Bones, a historical crime novel published under the name D.M. Mark.

He lives in the north of England with his family.

This website uses cookies. Using this website means you are okay with this but you can find out more and learn how to manage your cookie choices here.Close cookie policy overlay