Your cart

Close

Total AUD

Checkout

Imprint

  • Mulholland Books
  • Mulholland Books
  • Mulholland Books
  • Mulholland Books

Cruel Mercy: The 6th DS McAvoy Novel from the Richard & Judy bestselling author

David Mark

4 Reviews

Rated 0

Ds Mcavoy, Fiction, Crime & mystery

DS McAvoy is trying to solve a crime far from home in the latest stunning novel by bestselling author David Mark, perfect for fans of Val McDermid and Peter Robinson.

'Effortlessly blends the brutal and the tender, the dark and the light. Aector McAvoy is a true original. So is David Mark.' Mick Herron, author of Dead Lions

DS Aector McAvoy's brother-in-law Valentine is missing.

In New York City, half the world away.

And the two men he travelled with have just been found in an open grave upstate: one dead, one as good as.

McAvoy doesn't believe Valentine killed them. He does believe he's in trouble. And so he follows him to New York, determined to find out what happened.

But Valentine is in more danger than McAvoy could have imagined.

And McAvoy's walking into it right after him: into the darkness of murder, revenge, and a forty-year-old crime...

Read More Read Less

Praise for Cruel Mercy: The 6th DS McAvoy Novel from the Richard & Judy bestselling author

  • Breathtaking. Mark writes bad beautifully

  • More twists and turns than a corkscrew through the eyeball

  • In terms of food analogies, some books are bland or subtly flavoured, while others are like a fiery curry. David Mark's DS McAvoy books are unarguably in the latter category - Independent

  • One of the darkest of the new faces in British crime writing, and not one to miss - Daily Mail

Read More Read Less

David Mark

David spent more than fifteen years as a journalist, including seven years as a crime reporter with the Yorkshire Post - walking the Hull streets that would later become the setting for the Detective Sergeant Aector McAvoy novels.

He has written eight novels in the McAvoy series: Dark Winter, Original Skin, Sorrow Bound, Taking Pity, Dead Pretty, Cruel Mercy, and Scorched Earth as well as two McAvoy ebook short stories, A Bad Death and Fire of Lies. Dark Winter was selected for the Harrogate New Blood panel and was a Richard & Judy pick and a Sunday Times bestseller. In 2018 it was adapted for the stage at the Hull Truck Theatre and had a sellout debut run. David has also written The Zealot's Bones, a historical crime novel published under the name D.M. Mark.

He lives in the north of England with his family.

This website uses cookies. Using this website means you are okay with this but you can find out more and learn how to manage your cookie choices here.Close cookie policy overlay