Your cart

Close

Total AUD

Checkout

Imprint

  • Quercus
  • Heron Books
  • Heron Books
  • Heron Books

The Revelations of Carey Ravine

Debra Daley

8 Reviews

Rated 0

Fiction, Modern & contemporary fiction (post c 1945), Thriller / suspense, Historical romance, Historical fiction

A beautiful historical mystery for fans of Sarah Waters, Amitav Ghosh's THE SEA OF POPPIES, and JAMAICA INN.

London in the 1770s is bursting with opportunity. It's a city fuelled by new ideas and new money, where everything is for sale - including entree into the ruling class.

Making their way in this buccaneering society are Carey Ravine, a spirited young woman of enigmatic background, and her husband, the charming, endlessly enterprising Oliver Nash. Carey and Nash share a historic connection to India and a desperate ambition to better themselves. But as Nash's plans draw them into a restless association of gamblers and secret societies, Carey begins to question what's really hidden behind the seedy glamour of their lives. Her unease grows with the appearance of a mysterious man whose appearance unearths a troubling secret from the past. Carey finds herself forced to investigate the truth behind the stranger's claims - and to confront her own illusions about herself.

Read More Read Less

Praise for The Revelations of Carey Ravine

  • Gripping, tautly plotted and hauntingly beautiful: Debra Daley is a writer to watch

  • A glorious, intricate period romance

  • An enjoyable melodrama involving a stolen child, boorish brutes intent on ravishing the heroine, a woman with a gift of second sight and a rakish smuggler - The Sunday Times

  • Gripping, tautly plotted and hauntingly beautiful: Debra Daley is a writer to watch - Vanora Bennett, on Turning the Stones

  • An enjoyable melodrama involving a stolen child, boorish brutes intent on ravishing the heroine, a woman with a gift of second sight and a rakish smuggler - Sunday Times on Turning the Stones

  • I marvelled at this novel. Gripping, assured and powerfully atmospheric; you know at once you are in the hands of a master storyteller - Rowan Pelling, on Turning the Stones

  • A glorious, intricate period romance: a perfect mix of Georgian high society blended with wild Irish magic. Em is a feisty heroine and the denoument is as perfect as it is unexpected - Manda Scott, on Turning the Stones

  • A glorious, intricate period romance - Manda Scott

Read More Read Less