Your cart

Close

Total AUD

Checkout

Imprint

  • Quercus
  • Heron Books
  • Heron Books
  • Heron Books

The Revelations of Carey Ravine

Debra Daley

4 Reviews

Rated 0

Fiction, Modern & contemporary fiction (post c 1945), Thriller / suspense, Historical romance, Historical fiction

A beautiful historical mystery for fans of Sarah Waters, Amitav Ghosh's THE SEA OF POPPIES, and JAMAICA INN.

London in the 1770s is bursting with opportunity. It's a city fuelled by new ideas and new money, where everything is for sale - including entree into the ruling class.

Making their way in this buccaneering society are Carey Ravine, a spirited young woman of enigmatic background, and her husband, the charming, endlessly enterprising Oliver Nash. Carey and Nash share a historic connection to India and a desperate ambition to better themselves. But as Nash's plans draw them into a restless association of gamblers and secret societies, Carey begins to question what's really hidden behind the seedy glamour of their lives. Her unease grows with the appearance of a mysterious man whose appearance unearths a troubling secret from the past. Carey finds herself forced to investigate the truth behind the stranger's claims - and to confront her own illusions about herself.

Read More Read Less

Praise for The Revelations of Carey Ravine

  • I marvelled at this novel. Gripping, assured and powerfully atmospheric; you know at once you are in the hands of a master storyteller - Rowan Pelling, on Turning the Stones

  • A glorious, intricate period romance: a perfect mix of Georgian high society blended with wild Irish magic. Em is a feisty heroine and the denoument is as perfect as it is unexpected - Manda Scott, on Turning the Stones

  • Gripping, tautly plotted and hauntingly beautiful: Debra Daley is a writer to watch - Vanora Bennett, on Turning the Stones

  • An enjoyable melodrama involving a stolen child, boorish brutes intent on ravishing the heroine, a woman with a gift of second sight and a rakish smuggler - Sunday Times on Turning the Stones

Read More Read Less
This website uses cookies. Using this website means you are okay with this but you can find out more and learn how to manage your cookie choices here.Close cookie policy overlay