Your cart


Total AUD



  • Gateway

Kemlo and the Zones of Silence

E. C. Eliott

Write Review

Rated 0

Fiction, Science fiction

An SF Gateway eBook: bringing the classics to the future.

Kemlo and Krillie, together with Krillie's sister Krinsetta, set out for a visit to S Belt in Kemlo's space scooter. They are attacked by three boys from S Belt, who kidnap Krinsetta. Kemlo gives chase, and both his and the other craft are forced down, off course, on to the Zones of Silence, part of a large area known as the Dead World where the slightest whisper is magnified into a roar...

The inhabitants of the Zones have no audible form of speech, but use instead a highly developed system of thought transference. These creatures are friendly, but too friendly: they attempt to drug the minds of visitors with thought impulses compelling them to stay on the Zones. Kemlo is able to resist this powerful impulse, but...

Read More Read Less

E. C. Eliott

Reginald Alec Martin (1908-1971)
E. C. Eliott is the best-known pseudonym of British writer Reginald Alec Martin, who wrote under a number of different names. Born in South London, Martin began working at the age of thirteen and had numerous varied occupations throughout his life, including cowboy, gold prospector and wild-horse trader. He began writing full-time as a career at the end of World War Two and wrote well over a hundred and fifty books in total, including about sixty children's novels. The titles from Martin's children's sf series Kemlo had a powerful emotional impact on many of their youthful British readers, helping shape the thoughts of a generation towards sf. He died on 27th June 1971 in Haywards Heath, Sussex.

This website uses cookies. Using this website means you are okay with this but you can find out more and learn how to manage your cookie choices here.Close cookie policy overlay