Your cart

Close

Total AUD

Checkout

Imprint

  • MacLehose Press

My Name is Adam: Children of the Ghetto Volume I

Elias Khoury

4 Reviews

Rated 0

Israel, Palestine, Modern & contemporary fiction (post c 1945), Fiction in translation

A moving novel about Palestine's Calamity, for readers of Amos Oz and Orhan Pamuk - by the finest living Arabic novelist

"Khoury is one of the greatest writers of our times and perhaps the greatest Arabic-language writer of this generation, definite Nobel Prize material" Avraham Burg, Haaretz

Who is Adam Dannoun?

Until a few months before his death in a fire in his New York apartment - a consequence of smoking in bed - he thought he knew.

But an encounter with Blind Mahmoud, a father figure from his childhood, changed all that. From Mahmoud he learned the terrible truth behind his birth, a truth withheld from him for fifty-seven years by the woman he thought was his mother.

This discovery leads Adam to investigate what exactly happened in 1948 in Palestine in the city of Lydda where he was born: the massacre, the forced march into the wilderness and the corralling of those citizens who did not flee into what the Israeli soldiers and their Palestinian captives came to refer to as the Ghetto.

The stories he collects speak of bravery, ingenuity and resolve in the face of unimaginable hardship. Saved from the flames that claimed him, they are his lasting and crucial testament.

Translated from the Arabic by Humphrey Davies

Read More Read Less

Praise for My Name is Adam: Children of the Ghetto Volume I

  • Elias Khoury is an artist giving voice to rooted exiles and trapped refugees, to dissolving boundaries and changing identities, to radical demands and new languages.

  • One of the greatest writers of our times and perhaps the greatest Arabic-language writer of this generation, definite Nobel Prize material . . . It's very hard to review something so close to perfection. - Haaretz.

  • A writer of panoramic scope and ambition. - Financial Times.

  • The finest living Arabic novelist. - World Literature Today.

Read More Read Less
This website uses cookies. Using this website means you are okay with this but you can find out more and learn how to manage your cookie choices here.Close cookie policy overlay