Your cart

Close

Total AUD

Checkout

Imprint

  • Sphere
  • Sphere
  • Sphere
  • Sphere

Templar Silks

Elizabeth Chadwick

8 Reviews

Rated 0

Historical adventure, Historical romance, Historical fiction

William Marshal's life is brought to a triumphant end in this sequel to The Greatest Knight, Elizabeth's Chadwick's bestselling novel

To save his soul William Marshal takes the perilous road to Jerusalem, but the greatest danger he faces there is losing his heart.

England, 1219
Lying on his deathbed, William Marshal, England's greatest knight, sends a trusted servant to bring to him the silk Templar burial shrouds that returned with him from the Holy Land thirty years ago. It is time to fulfil his vow to the Templars and become a monk of their order for eternity.

As he waits for the shrouds' return, he looks back upon his long-ago pilgrimage with his brother Ancel, and the sacred mission entrusted to them - to bear the cloak of their dead young lord to Jerusalem and lay it on Christ's tomb in the church of the Holy Sepulchre.

Jerusalem, 1183
In the holiest of all cities, the brothers become embroiled in the deadly politics, devious scheming and lusts of the powerful men and women who rule the kingdom. Entangled with the dangerous, mercurial Paschia de Riveri, concubine of the highest churchman in the land, William sets on a path so perilous that there seems no way back for him, or for his brother. Both will pay a terrible price and their only chance to see home again will be dependent on the Templar shrouds.

In this glorious adventure, bestselling author Elizabeth Chadwick sweeps the reader to medieval Jerusalem in a story perfect for fans of Ken Follett and Philippa Gregory.

Read More Read Less

Praise for Templar Silks

  • An author who makes history come gloriously alive - The Times

  • I rank Elizabeth Chadwick with such historical stars as Dorothy Dunnett and Anya Seton

  • Chadwick's research is impeccable, her characters fully formed and her storytelling enthralling - Historical Novel Review

  • One of Elizabeth Chadwick's strengths is her stunning grasp of historical details... Her characters are beguiling and the story is intriguing and very enjoyable

  • Enjoyable and sensuous - Daily Mail

  • Meticulous research and strong storytelling - Woman & Home

  • Engrossingly written and well-researched - Choice

  • A rich and compelling read - Candis

Read More Read Less

Elizabeth Chadwick

Much of Elizabeth Chadwick's research is carried out as a member of Regia Anglorum, an early mediaeval re-enactment society with emphasis on accurately re-creating the past. She also tutors in the skill of writing historial and romantic fiction. She won a Betty Trask Award for The Wild Hunt and has been shortlisted for the RNA Awards four times.

This website uses cookies. Using this website means you are okay with this but you can find out more and learn how to manage your cookie choices here.Close cookie policy overlay