Your cart

Close

Total AUD

Checkout

Imprint

  • Quercus

A Wartime Wish

Elizabeth Gill

Write Review

Rated 0

Fiction, Modern & contemporary fiction (post c 1945)

As war fades, they must rebuild their lives. From the bestselling author of Miss Appleby's Academy comes a gritty family saga, perfect for fans of Catherine King and Nadine Dorries.

Returning to his home town from the Great War, Allan Jamieson is hailed as a hero. But inside he is a changed man, so affected by his experiences at the Front that he withdraws from his wife Kaye and their young son. Allan soon resumes his civilian career as a respected barrister, and takes on the defence of a beautiful young woman accused of killing her war-wounded husband. Alienated from his wife, it is not long before Allan and the woman have become recklessly involved. As war casts its long shadow over everyone's lives, the townspeople must learn to start again.

Read More Read Less

Elizabeth Gill

Elizabeth Gill was born in Newcastle upon Tyne and as a child lived in Tow Law, a small mining town on the Durham fells. She has been a published author for more than thirty years and has written more than forty books. She lives in Durham City, likes the awful weather in the north east and writes best when rain is lashing the windows.

This website uses cookies. Using this website means you are okay with this but you can find out more and learn how to manage your cookie choices here.Close cookie policy overlay