Your cart

Close

Total AUD

Checkout

Imprint

  • Quercus
  • Quercus
  • Quercus

Doctor of the High Fells

Elizabeth Gill

4 Reviews

Rated 0

Fiction, Sagas, Historical fiction

From the bestselling author of Miss Appleby's Academy, comes a gritty saga perfect for fans of Ellie Dean, Anna Jacobs and Nadine Dorries.

From the bestselling author of Miss Appleby's Academy, comes a gritty saga perfect for fans of Dilly Court, Maggie Hope and Nadine Dorries.

Prue's heart beat hard - she had heard of the low seams of the mines of northwest Durham and she had always had a fear of being enclosed. This was her job, she told herself, this was what she had wanted. She must do it. So she picked up her bag and followed them to the cage which carried the miners below ground, praying that the man did not die, that she need not produce some miracle . . .

Determined to practise as a doctor, Prue escapes a loveless marriage to journey far from home and join a surgery in Tow Law. But she soon finds that long hours and limited resources are only the beginning - gaining the townspeople's trust will be her greatest challenge of all. From the bestselling author of Miss Appleby's Academy comes the story of Prue Stanhope, young woman doctor to the miners of Tow Law, County Durham.

Read More Read Less

Praise for Doctor of the High Fells

  • A born storyteller - Trisha Ashley

  • Elizabeth Gill writes with a masterful grasp of conflicts and passions hidden among men and women of the wild North Country - Leah Fleming

  • An enthralling and satisfying novel that will leave you wanting to read more from this wonderful writer - Catherine King on Miss Appleby's Academy

  • Drama and intrigue worthy of Call the Midwife - Big Issue on Miss Appleby's Academy

Read More Read Less

Elizabeth Gill

Elizabeth Gill has written many novels under other names. She lives in Durham and has one daughter.

This website uses cookies. Using this website means you are okay with this but you can find out more and learn how to manage your cookie choices here.Close cookie policy overlay