Your cart

Close

Total AUD

Checkout

Imprint

  • Headline Review
  • Headline Review

The Sleeper: Two strangers meet on a train. Only one gets off: : A dark and gripping psychological thriller

Emily Barr

1 Reviews

Rated 0

Fiction, Modern & contemporary fiction (post c 1945)

Two strangers meet on a train. Only one gets off...

A tense, gripping psychological thriller, with Hitchcockian overtones, perfect for fans of Gillian Flynn's GONE GIRL and Sophie Hannah. Iris's world is rocked when her friend Lara disappears while travelling on the sleeper train between Cornwall and London. The police investigation reveals that married Lara, a regular commuter on the night train, was secretly having an affair with another married commuter. Although they have yet to find Lara's body, the police suspect she was killed by her lover and dumped from the train as it sped through the countryside. Iris is unconvinced and starts to delve into what really happened to her friend. She soon discovers that Lara has been running away from a secret past and from someone who wants to do her harm. Iris's search takes her to the Far East where Lara travelled as a young woman. Here, Iris unveils the shocking truth and also finds herself in terrible danger...

Read More Read Less

Praise for The Sleeper: Two strangers meet on a train. Only one gets off: : A dark and gripping psychological thriller

  • The Sleeper makes for breathless, compulsive reading, with characters so real you almost feel like you know them well enough to ring them up and ask them what on earth is going on. Emily achieves what other writers cannot - her books are just getting better and better. - Elizabeth Haynes

Read More Read Less

Emily Barr

Emily Barr is the well-loved and bestselling author of Backpack, the original backpacking novel, and many other highly acclaimed novels. A former journalist, she has travelled around the world and written columns and travel pieces for the Observer and the Guardian. After living in France, Emily and her husband (whom she met backpacking) have settled in Cornwall with their three children. You can learn more about Emily and her novels by visiting her website www.emilybarr.com.

This website uses cookies. Using this website means you are okay with this but you can find out more and learn how to manage your cookie choices here.Close cookie policy overlay