Your cart

Close

Total AUD

Checkout

Imprint

  • Hachette Australia
  • Hachette Australia

Resources

The House of Second Chances

Esther Campion

Write Review

Rated 0

Modern & contemporary fiction (post c 1945)

Can a house heal heartache? From coastal Australia to the rugged beauty of Ireland, an enchanting novel of starting over, in the tradition of Maeve Binchy and Monica McInerney

Their grandmother's stone cottage was always a welcome retreat in the childhood summers of Ellen and Aidan O'Shea. After a trip home from Australia, Ellen is keen to bring the neglected property back to its former glory and enlists the help of her dear friend and one of Ireland's top interior designers, Colette Barry.

Aidan is already begrudging the work on the house he has avoided for nearly twenty years. The last thing the builder needs is an interior designer who seems to do nothing but complicate his life. With their own personal heartaches to overcome, will Aidan and Colette find the courage to give the house and themselves a second chance?

Praise for Esther Campion's debut novel, Leaving Ocean Road:

'Warm, wise and full of humour. Esther Campion is a wonderful new voice in Australian fiction' CATHY KELLY

'Join[s] the captivating Maeve Binchy in the pantheon of popular Irish novelists' Irish Scene

'An intelligent novel. Esther Campion has woven a poignant story about that journey everyone takes to find their own beloved place in the wide wide world' Better Reading

Read More Read Less

Resources

Left
loading...

Esther takes us to her 5 favourie Irish pubs for St Patrick's Day!

loading...

Hearties Review: The House of Second Chances

loading...

The Hearties Do their Own Cottage Makeover

loading...

Celebrating St Patrick's Day with Esther Campion

Right
Left
loading...

Celebrating St Patrick's Day with Esther Campion

Right
Left
loading...

Esther takes us to her 5 favourie Irish pubs for St Patrick's Day!

loading...

Hearties Review: The House of Second Chances

loading...

The Hearties Do their Own Cottage Makeover

Right

Esther Campion

Esther Campion is from Cork, Ireland and currently lives in north-west Tasmania. She attended North Presentation Secondary School in Cork and has degrees from University College Cork and the University of Aberdeen, Scotland. Esther and her Orcadian husband have lived together in Ireland, Scotland, Norway and South Australia. They have two grown-up children in Adelaide and the youngest at home in Tassie. Esther loves sharing her life on a small property with an over-indulged chocolate Labrador, a smoochy cat and a couple of ageing mares, all of whom she firmly believes are living proof that dreams really can come true. The House of Second Chances is Esther's second novel, following Leaving Ocean Road.

This website uses cookies. Using this website means you are okay with this but you can find out more and learn how to manage your cookie choices here.Close cookie policy overlay