Your cart

Close

Total AUD

Checkout

Imprint

  • Tinder Press
  • Tinder Press

Voyeur: 'Unsettling, addictive, and razor-sharp'

Francesca Reece

8 Reviews

Rated 0

France, Modern & contemporary fiction (post c 1945)

A propulsive, vivid and witty debut set over a French summer that tackles the pull between desire and power, introducing a brilliant new voice in fiction. For readers of Anna Hope and Naoise Dolan.

'Addictive' Stylist
'Sultry' Elle
'Shimmers with suspense' Daily Mail
'Sizzling' Esquire

Summer in Paris. Leah, bored of tedious dead-end jobs, is intrigued to spot a job advert posted by the famous author Michael Young: 'Writer Seeks Assistant'.

After an unconventional interview, Michael invites Leah to spend summer in the south of France with his family. But as she begins her work transcribing his diaries of his debauched youth in 1960s Soho, the lines of past and present, truth and deceit, begin to blur, and Leah has to question what it is that Michael really sees in her.

A novel that challenges us to both question what we see, and what others see in us.
'A devastatingly compelling new voice in literary fiction' Louise O'Neill

'Devastatingly witty, compulsively readable . . . like Sally Rooney meeting Martin Amis in Paris' Francine Toon, author of Pine

Read More Read Less

Praise for Voyeur: 'Unsettling, addictive, and razor-sharp'

  • For fans of Naoise Dolan's Exciting Times, this is sultry antidote to our Groundhog Year - Elle 'Dazzling Debut' slot

  • Unsettling, addictive, and razor-sharp, Francesca Reece is a devastatingly compelling new voice in literary fiction

  • A sultry, summery book . . . devastatingly witty, compulsively readable . . . like Sally Rooney meeting Martin Amis in Paris

  • Tense and sultry... addictive... With a complicated love triangle, glamorous settings, a cast of enigmatic characters and a mystery that will keep you guessing right until the end, it's a genuinely thrilling summer holiday read - Stylist

  • A sultry novel that shimmers with suspense and a strong sense of period and time - Daily Mail

  • Set to rule the literary summer - Sunday Times Style

  • Voyeur is a salty, sultry exploration of desire and aspiration. . . wry, funny and wild, yet warns us of the dangers of a singular narrative and shows us the importance of being the protagonist of your own story

  • Francesca Reece's sizzling summer debut is a one way ticket to the South of France...As the title suggests, it's a story about the ways men and women watch one another, and the things we project onto people when we're only seeing what we want to see - Esquire

Read More Read Less

Francesca Reece

Francesca Reece is a writer and translator from North Wales. Her debut novel, Voyeur, was published by Tinder Press in 2021. She was the 2019 recipient of the Desperate Literature Prize, and has had work featured in The London Magazine, Banshee, and Elle UK. After several years spent living in Paris, she is now based in London, where she is a bookseller at BookBar.

This website uses cookies. Using this website means you are okay with this but you can find out more and learn how to manage your cookie choices here.Close cookie policy overlay