Your cart

Close

Total AUD

Checkout

Imprint

  • Orion
  • Orion
  • Orion

A Liverpool Secret

Geraldine O'Neill

2 Reviews

Rated 0

Modern & contemporary fiction (post c 1945), Sagas

A heartwarming saga of family and friendship, duty and desire, perfect for fans of Maureen Lee and Lyn Andrews from storyteller Geraldine O'Neill

Can a chance meeting lead to fresh starts for Lillian and Blaise, or will hidden secrets threaten their new beginnings?

Liverpool, 1925
Fourteen-year-old Lillian Taylor has spent her childhood in a loveless orphanage after the death of her mother. When a well-dressed young woman claiming to be her aunt arrives and whisks her away to her large townhouse, Lillian hopes it signals a change in her fortunes. However there's more to Aunt Joan than meets the eye and when Joan discovers Lillian's budding romance with one of her co-workers she swiftly threatens his family. Events take a tragic turn when Joan becomes ill and reveals the secrets she's been keeping that will change Lillian's life forever.

Ireland, 1954
Best friends Blaise and Clodagh are packing their bags as they prepare for their new life training as nurses in England. Through a chance encounter, Blaise meets Lillian Taylor - a middle-aged woman struggling to look after her seasick grandson. After struggling with her duties at St Thomas's Hospital and feeling down on her luck, Blaise decides to look Lillian up. Starting over in Liverpool, she hopes that being a private nurse for Lillian's grandson will signal the fresh start she's been hoping for. But when a mysterious man appears one day, Blaise realises long-hidden skeletons are about to finally come out of the cupboard and truths revealed after all these years.

Read More Read Less

Praise for A Liverpool Secret

  • Absolutely brilliant. I couldn't put it down. A real triumph - LYN ANDREWS

  • O'Neill's warmth and Binchyesque ability to make the reader care about her characters does indeed put her in the storytelling league of Queen Maeve - IRISH INDEPENDENT

Read More Read Less

Geraldine O'Neill

Geraldine O'Neill is the author of the Tara Flynn trilogy, set in 1950s Ireland. She was born in Lanarkshire, Scotland, and has lived in County Offaly, Ireland, since 1991. Formerly a schoolteacher in Ireland and UK, she now writes full time. She is married to Michael Brosnahan, has two adult children and has recently become a grandmother, which she loves.

This website uses cookies. Using this website means you are okay with this but you can find out more and learn how to manage your cookie choices here.Close cookie policy overlay