Your cart

Close

Total AUD

Checkout

Imprint

  • Orion
  • Orion
  • Orion

Music Across the Mersey

Geraldine O'Neill

3 Reviews

Rated 0

Modern & contemporary fiction (post c 1945), Sagas

A heartwarming saga of family and friendship, duty and desire, perfect for fans of Maureen Lee and Lyn Andrews from storyteller Geraldine O'Neill.

When a Dublin family is torn apart, can a new start in Liverpool help heal the wounds?

1940s Dublin

Handsome widower Johnny Cassidy is out of work, broken-hearted and lost as to how to look after his four children. At his lowest ebb, he's forced to realise that help sometimes comes from the strangest places.

With Johnny's family over the sea in Liverpool, it's his wife's spinster cousin Nora who comes to the rescue and has her life turned upside down by this brood of children.

With Nora around, Ella Cassidy can be a teenager again rather than trying to raise her younger siblings, while older brother, Sean, finds that music might be his salvation. It seems that each member of the Cassidy family cherishes secret dreams, but will they bring them together or tear them apart?

A warm and inviting story of family and friendship, duty and desire, perfect for fans of Maureen Lee and Lyn Andrews.

Read More Read Less

Praise for Music Across the Mersey

  • Absolutely brilliant. I couldn't put it down. A real triumph - LYN ANDREWS

  • O'Neill's warmth and Binchyesque ability to make the reader care about her characters does indeed put her in the storytelling league of Queen Maeve - IRISH INDEPENDENT

  • A sparkling, seductive tale set in 1950s Ireland ... confident and absorbing, an irresistible journey of wealth, love and simply, life - INDEPENDENT ON SUNDAY, IRELAND

Read More Read Less

Geraldine O'Neill

Geraldine O'Neill is the author of the Tara Flynn trilogy, set in 1950s Ireland. She was born in Lanarkshire, Scotland, and has lived in County Offaly, Ireland, since 1991. Formerly a schoolteacher in Ireland and UK, she now writes full time. She is married to Michael Brosnahan, has two adult children and has recently become a grandmother, which she loves.