Your cart

Close

Total AUD

Checkout

Imprint

  • Headline
  • Headline

Lavender Road (Lavender Road 1)

Helen Carey

3 Reviews

Rated 0

Fiction, Historical romance, Sagas

The first novel in the riveting LAVENDER ROAD series, bringing Second World War London vividly to life.

World War II has begun. As war rages, and the evacuation of Dunkirk approaches, the women of south London have their own battles to fight. Helen Carey's LONDON ROAD is a compelling novel perfect for fans of Lilian Harry, Kate Thompson and Annie Murray.

September 1939

As the nation braces itself for war, the residents of Lavender Road are dealing with troubles of their own.

With her husband in jail, Joyce Carter is never sure where her family's next meal will come from. And her troublesome daughter, Jen, isn't helping matters by refusing to work until she achieves her dream of becoming an actress.

Pam Nelson is struggling to deny the distance growing between her and her husband - which isn't helped by her secret attraction to their handsome new lodger. And unfortunately Pam isn't the only one to fall for his seductive charm...

As the threat of a German invasion looms, the lives of the women on this south London street are about to change for ever...

Read More Read Less

Praise for Lavender Road (Lavender Road 1)

  • 'Written with a lightness of touch, an emotional integrity and an historical accuracy which has brought her respect from critics and readers alike'

  • 'Sparkling storytelling!' - Evening Standard

  • 'One of the best books I've read in a long time. I laughed and cried and didn't want it to end'

Read More Read Less

Helen Carey

Helen Carey was born in Oxford and lived in London for many years. Before she began writing she had a range of jobs, including tour guide, army officer and management consultant. Her Lavender Road novels were inspired by a chance encounter with a neighbour who showed her the sites of the air-raid shelters on Clapham Common. She now lives in Wales with her husband and their two dogs.

This website uses cookies. Using this website means you are okay with this but you can find out more and learn how to manage your cookie choices here.Close cookie policy overlay