Your cart

Close

Total AUD

Checkout

Imprint

  • Headline
  • Headline
  • Headline

The Other Side of the Street (Lavender Road 5)

Helen Carey

3 Reviews

Rated 0

Fiction, Sagas

The fifth poignant and nostalgic saga in the Lavender Road series, about the resilient residents of a south London street during the Second World War. Perfect reading for fans of Katie Flynn and Ellie Dean.

THE OTHER SIDE OF THE STREET is an irresistible, romantic and heart-warming saga of south London's women during the Second World War. Not to be missed by readers of Katie Flynn, Ellie Dean and Lilian Harry.

It's 1944. Londoners are weary of air raids and rationing. But now, with rumours of an invasion of France, the tide of war seems to be turning. In Lavender Road, however, everyone still has challenges to face.

Young widow Louise Rutherford longs to make a new life for herself. When a glamorous American officer arrives at her factory to recruit volunteers for a secret project, she senses an opportunity, only to find her efforts hampered by ten-year-old war orphan, George Nelson.

Jen Carter's relationship with theatrical producer Henry Keller hits a hurdle when an old flame reappears. And when V1 retaliation rockets start hitting London, her mother Joyce's tentative romance is threatened too.

Will the war finally wear down the women of Lavender Road, or can love thrive even in the toughest of times?

Read More Read Less

Praise for The Other Side of the Street (Lavender Road 5)

  • Praise for previous Helen Carey novels: 'Written with a lightness of touch, an emotional integrity and an historical accuracy which has brought her respect from critics and readers alike'

  • 'Sparkling storytelling!' - Evening Standard

  • 'One of the best books I've read in a long time. I laughed and cried and didn't want it to end'

Read More Read Less

Helen Carey

Helen Carey was born in Oxford and lived in London for many years. Before she began writing she had a range of jobs, including tour guide, army officer and management consultant. Her Lavender Road novels were inspired by a chance encounter with a neighbour who showed her the sites of the air-raid shelters on Clapham Common. She now lives in Wales with her husband and their two dogs.