Your cart

Close

Total AUD

Checkout

Imprint

  • Hodder & Stoughton
  • Hodder & Stoughton

The Witchling's Girl: An atmospheric, beautifully written YA novel about magic, self-sacrifice and one girl's search for who she really is

Helena Coggan

7 Reviews

Rated 0

Fantasy & magical realism (Children's / Teenage)

Imaginative, thrilling and highly readable fantasy novel from a bright young voice. Perfect for fans of Victoria Aveyard.

'There is such craft in The Witchling's Girl that I had to regularly stop to have awe. Coggan invites you to be with characters who, for all the magic and wonder of the world she creates, are entirely relatable - women bound by duty and justice, love and fear, trying to find their own paths in a world not of their making. It gave me hope; it made me cry. It's a fantastically good book.' - Claire North, author of The First Fifteen Lives of Harry August

In a quiet street far from the river, with an ancient tree growing through its walls and floors, is the House of the Dead. There lives the witchling: healer, midwife and conduit between the world of the living and the world below. A witchling must give up her family and friends and spend her life alone, tending to the sick and carrying the dead down dark tunnels to the underworld.

Haley was born with the gift of death-magic, and at the age of seven her mother abandons her to the witchling to be raised as her successor. But as Haley grows older and learns her craft - as invading armies pass through her town, people are born and die on her floor, and loyalties shift and dissolve around her - she finds it harder and harder to keep her vows and be the perfect and impassive healer.

But if she can't, it will be her downfall - and that of everyone she's not supposed to love . . .

**************

Further praise for Helena Coggan:

'Vivid and intense. Helena Coggan had me on the edge of my seat' - Amanda Bouchet, bestselling author of The Kingmaker Chronicles

'A phenomenal achievement . . . assured, frightening, action-packed'- Observer

'Tense, exciting, engaging' - Claire North, author of The First Fifteen Lives of Harry August

'A pulsing, labyrinthine, emotionally visceral plot' - Metro

'The plot pulses with action and the characters are beautifully complex. This is a book that sparks with adrenaline and longing, all the way to the final page' - Rebecca Ross, author of The Queen's Rising

Read More Read Less

Praise for The Witchling's Girl: An atmospheric, beautifully written YA novel about magic, self-sacrifice and one girl's search for who she really is

  • Praise for Helena Coggan:

  • The next JK Rowling - NBC s Today

  • 'Vivid and intense. Helena Coggan had me on the edge of my seat - Amanda Bouchet, bestselling author of The Kingmaker Chronicles

  • A phenomenal achievement . . . assured, frightening, action-packed - Observer

  • Tense, exciting, engaging - Claire North, author of The First Fifteen Lives of Harry August

  • A pulsing, labyrinthine, emotionally visceral plot - Metro

  • 'The plot pulses with action and the characters are beautifully complex. This is a book that sparks with adrenaline and longing, all the way to the final page - Rebecca Ross, author of The Queen's Rising

Read More Read Less

Helena Coggan

Helena Coggan is a writer and student based in London. She wrote her first novel, The Catalyst, at the age of thirteen; it was published by Hodder and Stoughton two years later and named as one of 2015's Debuts of the Year by the Guardian and Amazon. She has been called 'the next JK Rowling' by NBC's Today, and in 2016 she was named by the Guardian as one of the most influential teenagers in the world. She is currently reading Physics at university, for the sole purpose of building a TARDIS one day. The Witchling's Girl is her fourth novel.

This website uses cookies. Using this website means you are okay with this but you can find out more and learn how to manage your cookie choices here.Close cookie policy overlay