Your cart

Close

Total AUD

Checkout

Imprint

  • Seven Dials
  • Seven Dials
  • Seven Dials
  • Seven Dials

Hearts of Darkness: Serial Killers, the Behavioral Science Unit, and My Life as a Woman in the FBI

Jana Monroe

Write Review

Rated 0

True crime, Police & security services, Crime & criminology, Criminal or forensic psychology

The gripping true account of one woman's encounters with some of the darkest criminal minds in history.

For fans of Mindhunter, Criminal Minds, and My Favorite Murder, a riveting memoir of a trailblazing woman's life hunting down serial killers as one of the first female profilers of the FBI Behavioral Sciences Unit and the real-life model for Clarice Starling in The Silence of the Lambs.

'Jana Monroe is the single most influential woman to ever serve in the FBI.'-Joe Navarro, bestselling author of What Every BODY Is Saying

Jana Monroe was no ordinary cop. One of the first analysts-and, at the time, the only female agent-in the world-renowned FBI Behavioral Sciences Unit at Quantico, she consulted on more than 850 homicide cases, including infamous serial killers Ted Bundy, Jeffrey Dahmer, Edmund Kemper, and Aileen Wuornos. Monroe was also the model for Clarice Starling in the movie version of The Silence of the Lambs; she even helped train Jodie Foster for her Oscar-winning role. Monroe's later years found her dealing with the aftermath of Columbine, heading up the FBI's post-9/11 investigation in Las Vegas, and much more.

In Hearts of Darkness, Monroe steps out from the shadows to tell the story of her astonishing life in shaping law enforcement and intelligence analysis. Monroe explores the cases that have stayed with her, breaking down victimology, offering new insight into the minds of serial killers, and discussing the psychological toll of the job and the obstacles she faced as a woman in the male-dominated Bureau. This is a gripping, sometimes gruesome, and always remarkable memoir of an unparalleled life and career spent chasing the monsters among us.

Read More Read Less

Readers also viewed

Left
Right
This website uses cookies. Using this website means you are okay with this but you can find out more and learn how to manage your cookie choices here.Close cookie policy overlay