Your cart

Close

Total AUD

Checkout

Imprint

  • Hodder Paperbacks
  • Hodder & Stoughton

My Heart and Other Black Holes

Jasmine Warga

7 Reviews

Rated 0

Fiction, Modern & contemporary fiction (post c 1945), General fiction (Children's / Teenage)

A brilliant and heartbreaking novel perfect for fans of THIRTEEN REASONS WHY.

Aysel and Roman are practically strangers, but they've been drawn into an unthinkable partnership. In a month's time, they plan to commit suicide - together.

Aysel knows why she wants to die: being the daughter of a murderer doesn't equal normal, well-adjusted teenager. But she can't figure out why handsome, popular Roman wants to end it all....and why he's even more determined than she is.

With the deadline getting closer, something starts to grow between Aysel and Roman - a feeling she never thought she would experience. It seems there might be something to live for, after all - but is Aysel in so deep she can't turn back?

Read More Read Less

Praise for My Heart and Other Black Holes

  • 'A striking new voice in YA fiction'

  • 'Kinetic and beautiful and unexpectedly life-affirming'

  • 'Earnest and heartfelt . . . any teen who's ever felt like an outsider will be able to relate to Aysel's and Roman's fully realized characters' - Kirkus Reviews

  • 'A stunning and haunting depiction of depression - you really feel Aysel's numbness. I had to take 'emotional recovery' breaks while reading it. My Heart And Other Black Holes handles the sensitive topic of suicide expertly, with absolutely no patronizing or glamorization. And yet, the book leaves you with such a warm feeling of hope. It's a remarkable achievement'

  • 'Powerful...sucked me right in'

  • 'This book proved hard to put down - both characters had my heart aching for them'

  • 'This delicately handled and intimate portrayal of adolescent angst is an uplifting affirmation of the power of love and forgiveness to heal and restore. It's a brave and exciting debut novel that addresses an important issue with wit, compassion and authentic teenage voices' - Daily Mail

Read More Read Less

Jasmine Warga

Jasmine Warga lives in Mariemont, Ohio with her husband, Greg, a cat named Salvador Dali, and a puppy named Scout. She was born and raised just outside of Cincinnati, and spent her days making up stories, listening to emotive music, staring up at the night sky, and reading. She graduated from Northwestern University with a B.A. in History and Art History, and went on to teach 6th grade science at a school in Houston, Texas. In June 2013, she received a Master's in Fine Arts in Creative Writing from Lesley University. Her debut novel, My Heart and Other Black Holes, published to rave reviews from the YA community. Here We Are Now is her second novel.

This website uses cookies. Using this website means you are okay with this but you can find out more and learn how to manage your cookie choices here.Close cookie policy overlay