Your cart

Close

Total AUD

Checkout

Imprint

  • Orion
  • Orion
  • Orion

Shtum

Jem Lester

4 Reviews

Rated 0

Fiction, Modern & contemporary fiction (post c 1945), Humour

Funny, heartbreaking and uplifting, SHTUM is a novel about three generations of a family learning how to get along. For fans of The Rosie Project and The Curious Incident of the Dog in the Night-Time.

Will make you laugh, make you cry, and make you think' Graeme Simsion, author of The Rosie Project

'A book with true heart and soul' Joanna Cannon, author of The Trouble With Goats and Sheep

'Fiercely funny ... an unforgettable first novel' The Times

Ten-year-old Jonah lives in a world of his own.

He likes colours and feathers and the feel of fresh air on his skin.

He dislikes sudden loud noises and any change to his daily routine.

Jonah has never spoken, yet somehow he communicates better than all of the adults in his life.

Funny, heartbreaking and uplifting, SHTUM is a novel about three generations of a family learning how to get along.

What readers are saying about this heartwarming book from Jem Lester:
'This book has gone onto my all-time favourite list'

'I laughed, got angry and cried in places.'

'This is a book that will stay with me for a very long time.'

'I cried my heart out.'

'A gripping and emotional story.'

'Brilliant humour.'

'Extremely moving'

'It is a laugh through the tears book.

Read More Read Less

Praise for Shtum

  • Angry and fiercely funny . . . an unforgettable first novel - THE TIMES

  • A darker, sadder version of The Curious Incident of the Dog in the Night-Time, but just as moving - THE OBSERVER

  • This is the literary territory of Tony Parsons and Nick Hornby, infused with the Jewish humour of Howard Jacobson and Shalom Auslander - GUARDIAN

  • Jem Lester writes so beautifully, it feels as if you're eavesdropping on a conversation. Shtum is a book with true heart and soul, and I loved every word

Read More Read Less

Jem Lester

Jem Lester was a journalist for nine years and saw the Berlin Wall fall in 1989 - and though there, he denies personal responsibility. He was also the last journalist to interview the legendary Fred Zinnemann, before the director died. He denies responsibility for that too. He taught English and Media studies at secondary schools for nine years. Jem has two children, one of whom is profoundly autistic, and for them he accepts total responsibility. He lives in London with his partner and her two children.

Jem's first novel, SHTUM, won the 2013 PFD/City University Prize for Fiction.

Follow Jem on Twitter @JemLester

This website uses cookies. Using this website means you are okay with this but you can find out more and learn how to manage your cookie choices here.Close cookie policy overlay