Your cart

Close

Total AUD

Checkout

Imprint

  • Headline
  • Headline
  • Headline

The Ninth Rain (The Winnowing Flame Trilogy 1): British Fantasy Award Winner 2018

Jen Williams

5 Reviews

Rated 0

The Winnowing Flame Tril, Fiction, Fantasy

From British Fantasy Awards Best Newcomer nominee, Jen Williams, comes the first novel in an ambitious epic fantasy trilogy, perfect for fans of Robin Hobb.

Jen Williams, acclaimed author of The Copper Cat trilogy, featuring THE COPPER PROMISE, THE IRON GHOST and THE SILVER TIDE, returns with the first in a blistering new trilogy. 'An original new voice in heroic fantasy' Adrian Tchaikovsky

The great city of Ebora once glittered with gold. Now its streets are stalked by wolves. Tormalin the Oathless has no taste for sitting around waiting to die while the realm of his storied ancestors falls to pieces - talk about a guilt trip. Better to be amongst the living, where there are taverns full of women and wine.

When eccentric explorer, Lady Vincenza 'Vintage' de Grazon, offers him employment, he sees an easy way out. Even when they are joined by a fugitive witch with a tendency to set things on fire, the prospect of facing down monsters and retrieving ancient artefacts is preferable to the abomination he left behind.

But not everyone is willing to let the Eboran empire collapse, and the adventurers are quickly drawn into a tangled conspiracy of magic and war. For the Jure'lia are coming, and the Ninth Rain must fall...

Read More Read Less

Praise for The Ninth Rain (The Winnowing Flame Trilogy 1): British Fantasy Award Winner 2018

  • There is so much to praise about The Ninth Rain: the worldbuilding is top-notch, the plot is gripping and the characters just get better and better. A sublime read - SFX

  • Yet again, Williams has created an addictive and coherent fantasy world filled with all sorts of deliciously interesting things within it... This is fantasy adventure at its very best. Go check it out - Starburst

  • The Ninth Rain is a fast-paced and vibrant fantasy romp through a new world, full of people you want to spend time with and enemies you'd happily run from - SciFiNow

  • Jen Williams takes us on another great adventure. Fresh, engaging, and full of heart - Peter Newman

  • A cracking story that grips you by the heart and doesn't let go - Edward Cox

Read More Read Less

Jen Williams

JEN WILLIAMS started writing about pirates and dragons as a young girl and hasn't ever stopped. Her short stories have featured in numerous anthologies and her debut novel, The Copper Promise, was published in 2014 to huge acclaim. Jen was nominated in the Best Newcomer category at the 2015 British Fantasy Awards and her following two novels, The Iron Ghost and The Silver Tide were both shortlisted for the British Fantasy Awards Novel of the Year. Jen lives in London with her partner and their cat.

This website uses cookies. Using this website means you are okay with this but you can find out more and learn how to manage your cookie choices here.Close cookie policy overlay