Your cart

Close

Total AUD

Checkout

Imprint

  • Sphere
  • Sphere
  • Sphere
  • Hachette Audio

Beneath a Burning Sky: A gripping and mysterious historical love story

Jenny Ashcroft

1 Reviews

Rated 0

Egypt, Fiction, Historical romance, Historical fiction

A beautiful and heart-wrenching story of love and betrayal, set against a backdrop of British-occupied Egypt. Perfect for fans of Victoria Hislop, Dinah Jefferies and Rosanna Ley

'Exotic and mysterious - I was gripped by this complex tale' Dinah Jefferies, author of number one bestselling The Tea Planter's Wife

'This story of twists and turns transcends era and genre. Absolutely brilliant' Kerry Fisher, author of The Silent Wife 'A must for fans of first-class writing, brilliant characters, fascinating locations and gripping plots' Tracy Buchanan, author of My Sister's Secret 'Beautifully described . . . A moving love story' Tracy Rees, author of Amy Snow 'Exquisitely written . . . unputdownable and unforgettable' Iona Grey, author of Letters to the Lost A beautiful and heart-wrenching story of love and betrayal, set against a backdrop of British-occupied Egypt. Perfect for fans of Victoria Hislop, Dinah Jefferies and Leah Fleming. When twenty-two-year-old Olivia is coerced into marriage by the cruel Alistair Sheldon she leaves England for Egypt, his home and the land of her own childhood. Reluctant as she is to go with Alistair, it's in her new home that she finds happiness in surprising places: she is reunited with her long-estranged sister, Clara, and falls - impossibly and illicitly - in love with her husband's boarder, Captain Edward Bertram.

Then Clara is abducted from one of the busiest streets in the city. Olivia is told it's thieves after ransom money, but she's convinced there's more to it. As she sets out to discover what's happened to the sister she's only just begun to know, she falls deeper into the shadowy underworld of Alexandria, putting her own life, and her chance at a future with Edward, the only man she's ever loved, at risk. Because, determined as Olivia is to find Clara, there are others who will stop at nothing to conceal what's become of her . . .

BENEATH A BURNING SKY is a novel of secrets, betrayal and, above all else, love. Set against the heat and intrigue of colonial Alexandria, this beautiful and heart-wrenching story will take your breath away.

Read More Read Less

Praise for Beneath a Burning Sky: A gripping and mysterious historical love story

  • From the exciting beginning to a nail-biting conclusion, with the scent of market stalls and the salt from the sea running through it, I was gripped by this complex tale. Exotic. Mysterious. BENEATH A BURNING SKY is an absorbing, satisfying read. - Dinah Jefferies, author of number one bestselling THE TEA PLANTER'S WIFE

Read More Read Less

Jenny Ashcroft

Jenny Ashcroft lives in Brighton with her husband and three children. Before that, she spent many years living and working in Australia and Asia - a time which gave her an enduring passion for stories set in exotic places. She has a degree in history, and has always been fascinated by the past - in particular the way that extraordinary events can transform the lives of normal people.

Jenny's first three books - Beneath A Burning Sky, Island in the East and Meet Me In Bombay - were all ebook bestsellers.

This website uses cookies. Using this website means you are okay with this but you can find out more and learn how to manage your cookie choices here.Close cookie policy overlay