Your cart

Close

Total AUD

Checkout

Imprint

  • Sphere
  • Hachette Audio
  • Sphere

Island in the East: Escape This Summer With This Perfect Beach Read

Jenny Ashcroft

8 Reviews

Rated 0

Historical romance, Historical fiction

From the author of Beneath a Burning Sky, comes a stunning story of love, sisterly rivalry and the true cost of betrayal, beautifully set in 1890s and 1940s Singapore.

***THE EBOOK BESTSELLER***
Perfect for fans of Lucinda Riley, Dinah Jefferies, Victoria Hislop and Lucy Foley.

Two great loves. One shattering betrayal.
A war that changes everything.

**************

'Island in the East is a stunner' Kate Furnivall
'Exotic and mysterious - I was gripped' Dinah Jefferies
'A moving, stirring love story' Rachel Rhys
'Evocative, absorbing. . . A rich and satisfying read' Gill Paul
'It becomes impossible to put this book down' Kate Riordan

**************

Singapore, 1897
Harriet and Mae Grafton are twenty-year-old identical twins born from a scandalous affair. They grew up in India slighted by gossip and ostracised from polite society. They had each other and that was enough. But when their wealthy benefactor sends them to Singapore, they meet the mysterious Alex Blake and their relationship fractures with devastating consequences.

1941
Ivy Harcourt is posted to wartime Singapore amid the looming threat of Japanese invasion. Ivy knows the island will be a far cry from war-torn London, but she is totally unprepared for what awaits her: strangers from her grandmother Mae's past, an unstoppable love affair and a shattering secret that's been waiting to be uncovered . . .

Vivid, authentic and utterly beautiful - with a sizzling love affair playing out against sisterly rivalry and epic family drama - Island in the East is romantic historical fiction at its very best.

More praise for Jenny Ashcroft:

'Beautifully described . . . A moving love story' Tracy Rees
'A great read.' Judith Lennox
'A summer must-read' Red
'Love, sisterly rivalry and betrayal are themes in this epic tale' My Weekly
'Brilliant; everything romantic historical fiction should be.' Nicola Cornick
'Absolutely brilliant' Kerry Fisher
'Completely entrancing . . . Perfect escapism, beautifully written.' Emma Rous
'Evocative, lush and beautifully written, Island in the East is a gripping read.' Nikola Scott
'First-class writing, brilliant characters, fascinating locations and gripping plots' Tracy Buchanan
'Exquisitely written . . . unputdownable and unforgettable' Iona Grey
'A wonderful novel, full of mystery that kept me gripped until the end' Rachel Burton

Read More Read Less

Praise for Island in the East: Escape This Summer With This Perfect Beach Read

  • A disturbing and utterly fascinating tale in the vivid setting of Singapore, where emotions are raw and characters are pushed to the edge. I was swept away by the deeply moving love story and by the dark twisting shivering secrets behind it. The stifling sense of threat and heat gripped me and didn't let go. Beautifully written and impressively researched, Island in the East is a stunner. Emotional, evocative and enthralling. - Kate Furnivall

  • With two heart-breaking stories that interwove in such a way that I was rooting for the main characters right through, beautiful descriptions of Singapore (and two lovely sexy heroes!), I loved Island in the East. A fabulous book. - Tracy Rees

  • A moving, stirring love story, and so richly atmospheric. I could practically feel the sweat prickling on my skin

  • An evocative, absorbing story about a fascinating period of history. The dual narrative is perfectly balanced, making it a rich and satisfying read. - bestselling author of The Secret Wife

  • Historical fiction at its atmospheric best - Red Magazine

  • Love, sisterly rivalry and betrayal are themes in this epic tale - My Weekly

  • A great read, with a complex and involving plot, appealing characters and two touching love stories. Ashcroft's portrait of wartime Singapore is evocative, and the island's fall in 1942 is powerfully conveyed. - on Island in the East

  • Jenny Ashcroft's Island in the East is that rare thing: a dual narrative novel in which both strands of the story are as engaging and compelling as each other. The Singapore of the two different eras is a character in itself, and so deftly drawn that the heat and humidity seem to rise from every page. As the twin threats of invasion and social exclusion close in on Harriet, Mae and Ivy, it becomes impossible to put this book down.

Read More Read Less

Jenny Ashcroft

Jenny Ashcroft lives in Brighton with her husband and three children. Before that, she spent many years living and working in Australia and Asia - a time which gave her an enduring passion for stories set in exotic places. She has a degree in history, and has always been fascinated by the past - in particular the way that extraordinary events can transform the lives of normal people.

Jenny's first three books - Beneath A Burning Sky, Island in the East and Meet Me In Bombay - were all ebook bestsellers.

This website uses cookies. Using this website means you are okay with this but you can find out more and learn how to manage your cookie choices here.Close cookie policy overlay