Your cart


Total AUD



  • Hodder & Stoughton

The Good Provider: Book One

Jessica Stirling

4 Reviews

Rated 0

The Nicholson Quartet, Fiction, Sagas, Historical fiction

The first novel by the author who has been called Scotland's answer to Catherine Cookson: a powerful set in Glasgow early in the 20th century. It continues with The Asking Price, The Wise Child and The Welcome Light.

Kirsty, an 'orphan brat' escapes from the remote Ayrshire farm where she was a servant and runs away with her sweetheart, Craig Nelson. With little money and still strangers to each other, they travel to Glasgow and set up in a 'marriage' that is never made legal. Ambitious and impatient to get on, Craig falls in with a gang of sly and vicious thieves and soon sinks into a life of drink and crime. Meanwhile, Kirsty has met the handsome and charming David Lockhart, a medical missionary soon to return to China. But she is bound by loyalty to Craig, a less than ideal husband who can only bring her hardship and heartbreak . . .

Read More Read Less

Praise for The Good Provider: Book One

  • Jessica Stirling's high reputation is well deserved - Manchester Evening News

  • She writes in bright colours with bold, confident strokes. - Glasgow Herald

  • A powerful story. - My Weekly

  • Powerful Victorian drama - My Weekly

Read More Read Less
This website uses cookies. Using this website means you are okay with this but you can find out more and learn how to manage your cookie choices here.Close cookie policy overlay