Your cart


Total AUD



  • Hodder Children's Books

Midnight is a Place

Joan Aiken

6 Reviews

Rated 0

For National Curriculum Key Stage 3, Interest age: from c 11 years, Fiction, General fiction (Children's / Teenage), Historical fiction (Children's / Teenage)

A masterful, compelling story from an award-winning author, this is the anniversary edition of a story every child and parent will love.

Lucas is lonely. Orphaned and sent to live with his formidable guardian in a vast mansion, he longs for a friend.

Then Anna-Marie arrives. She's spoilt and wilful - and practically half his age. Lucas feels more alone than ever.

But one night something terrible happens. Lucas and Anna-Marie face a terrifying and treacherous ordeal, alone in the hostile city streets. Together, they must fight to survive ...

The 40th anniversary edition of a compelling tale of villainy and suspense - from the best-selling author of THE WOLVES OF WILLOUGHBY CHASE.

Read More Read Less

Praise for Midnight is a Place

  • Joan Aiken is one of the most remarkable writers in modern children's fiction. - The Sunday Times

  • An old-fashioned rattling good yarn, full of extraordinary characters and gloriously rich language - Adele Geras, TES

  • Joan Aiken is a superb storyteller. Even when her stories touch on the dark, mystical side, they pull children with with fascination, not fear - Sainsbury's Magazine

  • Fog Hounds: 'Spellbinding adventures which are modern fairy tales.' - Aldershot Mail

  • A gem from the top-class author of The Wolves of Willoughby Chase - Birmingham Post

  • A collection of manageably short but grippingly exciting tales that will have (children) coming back for more. - The Lady

Read More Read Less

Joan Aiken

Joan Aiken (Author)
Joan Aiken (1924-2004) was born in Rye, Sussex. She was the daughter of the American poet Conrad Aiken, and her step-father was English writer Martin Armstrong.
Joan Aiken wrote over 100 books for young readers and adults and is recognised as one of the classic children's authors of the twentieth century.
Her best-known books are The Wolves of Willoughby Chase chronicles and the Arabel's Raven series, but she is also famous for her brilliant short stories. Joan Aiken received the Edgar Allan Poe Award in the United States as well as the Guardian Award for Fiction. She was decorated with an MBE for her services to children's books.

This website uses cookies. Using this website means you are okay with this but you can find out more and learn how to manage your cookie choices here.Close cookie policy overlay