Your cart

Close

Total AUD

Checkout

Imprint

  • Little, Brown Books for Young Readers

Where Do You Go, Birdy Jones?

Joanna Nadin

9 Reviews

Rated 0

Classic fiction (Children's / Teenage), Family & home stories (Children's / Teenage), Pets (Children's / Teenage), Personal & social issues: family issues (Children'

A story about finding yourself when everything changes and believing that love never runs out. Perfect for fans of A Boy called Hope and Jacqueline Wilson. From the author of JOE ALL ALONE - now a major CBBC series.

From the author of JOE ALL ALONE - now a major CBBC series.

A story about finding yourself when everything changes and believing that love never runs out. Perfect for fans of A Boy called Hope and Jacqueline Wilson.

Eleven-year-old Birdy Jones is all alone. She doesn't belong at school, at home, or even with her dad anymore. The only place she feels like herself is at her grandpa's pigeon loft, where the familiar warmth and birdsong block out the world. It's also where she meets Dogger - her only friend and the one person who really seems to know where she's coming from.

Birdy used to be happy, when it was just her and Dad, but now she has a stepmum, a little sister, and another baby on the way. Worse, her growing family needs to move house, but Birdy doesn't believe there'll ever be enough room for her in Dad's busy life - and she can't leave Grandpa and the pigeons. She won't.

Birdy dreams of a different family and future, and with Dogger's help she decides to find one - even if it means running away from everything she's ever known. But sometimes you need to fly away to find your way home again . . .

Read More Read Less

Praise for Where Do You Go, Birdy Jones?

  • A poignant story of family, friendship and the things that matter, with an audacious heroine - Guardian

  • A great tale of home, homing birds and belonging . . . drenched in atmosphere . . . full of heart - BITE-SIZE BOOKS

  • I don't mind admitting that I bawled my eyes out over Where Do You Go, Birdy Jones?. It's just so lovely and heartfelt and genuine. [...] There's so much to love about this story [...] I won't forget Birdy Jones for a long time. - The Book Bag

  • This is such a lovely story and Birdy is a wonderfully strong girl [...] It's enough to make you cry. - The Bookwitch (blog)

  • A story about finding yourself when everything changes. - The Bookseller

  • A tender, unsentimental adventure, filled with family ties, love and courage - Guardian on THE INCREDIBLE BILLY WILD

  • A real boy's voice, nailed hard to a tale rich with wrong decisions, hopeless plans and

  • stabs at redemption. I loved it - Steve Cole on JOE ALL ALONE

  • An insightful, gripping, character-driven novel about peer pressure and the conflict between wanting to fit in and standing up for yourself ... As the novel builds to a tense, emotional climax, you'll be on the edge of your seat - Joanne Owen - LoveReading4Kids - on WHITE LIES, BLACK DARE

Read More Read Less

Joanna Nadin

Joanna Nadin is a winner of the Fantastic Book Award, the Surrey Book Award, Blue Peter 'Book of the Month' and Radio 4 Open Book 'Book of the Year'. She has been shortlisted for the Booktrust Best Book Award and Queen of Teen, and Spies, Dad, Big Lauren and Me was selected for the Richard and Judy Book Club. In 2011, Penny Dreadful is a Magnet for Disaster was shortlisted for the Roald Dahl Funny Prize. Joe All Alone was nominated for the 2016 CILIP Carnegie Medal. She writes the Flying Fergus series with Sir Chris Hoy. Joanna previously worked as a policy writer for the Labour Party and a special adviser to the Prime Minister. She continues to freelance as a speechwriter and editor, and lectures in Creative Writing at Bath Spa University.

This website uses cookies. Using this website means you are okay with this but you can find out more and learn how to manage your cookie choices here.Close cookie policy overlay