Your cart

Close

Total AUD

Checkout

Imprint

  • Hodder Paperbacks
  • Hodder & Stoughton
  • Hodder & Stoughton

Christmas with the Bobby Girls: Book Three in a gritty, uplifting WW1 series about the first ever female police officers

Johanna Bell

8 Reviews

Rated 0

Historical romance, Sagas, Historical fiction

The third book in an uplifting, lively saga series centered around women entering the world of policing for the first time, set at the outbreak of the First World War.

In the midst of war, can they find a reason to celebrate?

1915. Patrolling is the last thing on the minds of Women's Police Service recruits Annie, Maggie and Poppy right now, because Annie and her fiance Richard are about to get married. She's been waiting for this day her whole life, but when it finally comes it brings only heartache and Annie doesn't know if she can go on.

The influx of soldiers to the capital means that the WPS's work is more important than ever, though, and Annie's country needs her. She and the girls are posted to the bustling heart of the city and she hopes the new job will distract her from her sorrow.

It certainly does that. Soon the biggest bombing raid of the war causes chaos on their patch. On top of that, Annie suspects that a group of men are forcing European refugees into prostitution and resolves to stop them by Christmas. But by the time she realises just how high up the scandal goes, she might be in too deep to get out . . .

The Bobby Girls Series is perfect for fans of Dilly Court, Daisy Styles and Call the Midwife

Readers are loving CHRISTMAS WITH THE BOBBY GIRLS!

'I love love love this book. Johanna Bell, your writing is out of this world and I can't wait to read the next in the series.' - 5 STARS

'This series just gets better and better. The only good thing about getting to the end was the knowledge that there is another one to come.' - 5 STARS

'A fantastic addition to the series.' - 5 STARS

'A lovely story that keeps the reader involved from start to finish. Definitely recommended.' - 5 STARS

'The story was absorbing and I didn't want to put it down. An excellent read as always' - 5 STARS

'I have loved reading these books about the girls in blue. Johanna Bell knows how to draw you in and how to keep you reading.' - 5 STARS

'A fantastic read - highly recommended' - 5 STARS

'Another delightful catch up with the Bobby Girls, a wonderful addition to the series.' - 5 STARS

'A perfect Christmas read' - 5 STARS

'I love this series so much. A must read' - 5 STARS

Read More Read Less

Praise for Christmas with the Bobby Girls: Book Three in a gritty, uplifting WW1 series about the first ever female police officers

  • PRAISE FOR THE BOBBY GIRLS SERIES - -

  • Filled with richly drawn characters that leap from the page, and a plot that's so well researched and well written you will believe you are in the thick of wartime policing, The Bobby Girls is a must-read for all saga fans. - Fiona Ford, bestselling author of Christmas at Liberty's

  • I really enjoyed reading about Britain's first female police officers. A lot of research has gone into this book and it's all the richer and more readable for it. An exciting new voice in women's fiction. - Kate Thompson, bestselling author of Secrets of the Singer Girls

  • Johanna Bell has hit the jackpot with this striking WW1 crime story. The author places the focus firmly on the girls' growth into independent members of society in a rapidly changing world. It's a heartening central message conveyed with verve and empathy and remains relevant to today's readers, both young and old. - Jenny Holmes, author of The Spitfire Girls

  • A well-researched and interesting story giving a great insight into early women's policing. - Anna Jacobs, bestselling author of the Ellindale series

  • I really did enjoy The Bobby Girls. It has a lovely warm feeling about it and is excellently written. - Maureen Lee, RNA award-winning author of Dancing in the Dark

  • Written with warmth and compassion, the novel gives fascinating insights into the lives of three courageous young women. - Margaret Kaine, RNA award-winning author of Ring of Clay

  • This is a story that needed to be told. As a former Special Constable, I love Johanna Bell from the bottom of my heart for giving a voice to the women who first made a way for me and countless others like me - to work as real police officers in the service of our communities. - Penny Thorpe, bestselling author of The Quality Street Girls

Read More Read Less

Johanna Bell

Johanna is a freelance journalist living in Surrey with her husband, daughter and dog. She developed a passion for learning about the wars after chatting to her granddad about his experiences in World War Two.

This website uses cookies. Using this website means you are okay with this but you can find out more and learn how to manage your cookie choices here.Close cookie policy overlay