Your cart

Close

Total AUD

Checkout

Imprint

  • Hodder & Stoughton
  • Hodder & Stoughton
  • Hodder & Stoughton

Night Music: Nocturnes 2

John Connolly

9 Reviews

Rated 0

Prose: non-fiction, Fiction, Crime & mystery, Horror & ghost stories, Short stories, Gift books

From the bestselling author of the Charlie Parker mystery series comes a new anthology of chilling short fiction. Fans of THE BOOK OF LOST THINGS and NOCTURNES will be delighted with this superbly crafted collection of short stories of the supernatural from John Connolly.

A decade after NOCTURNES first terrified and delighted readers, John Connolly, bestselling author of the acclaimed Charlie Parker thrillers, gives us a second volume of tales of the supernatural. From stories of the monstrous for dark winter nights to fables of fantastic libraries and haunted books, from a tender narrative of love after death to a frank, personal and revealing account of the author's affection for myths of ghosts and demons, this is a collection that will surprise, delight - and terrify.

NIGHT MUSIC: NOCTURNES 2 is a masterly collection to be read with the lights on - menace has never been so seductive.

Read More Read Less

Praise for Night Music: Nocturnes 2

  • An addictive and meticulously rendered collection of eerie, amusing and achingly beautiful short stories. - Sunday Business Post

  • Showcases his talent for crafting paranormal tales with healthy injections of humor - Publishers Weekly

  • Connolly knows how to unsettle, chill and outright terrify his readers . . . he displays his aptitude for crafting creepy supernatural tales - Portland Press Herald

  • Connolly never disappoints; his writing is always flawless, sympathetic and with beautifully drawn characters . . . Night Music is a worthy follow-up to Nocturnes, and there is much to enjoy here - and much to think about, too. A must for John Connolly's many fans. A collection of supernatural fiction to rattle your cage. - Mass Movement

  • Connolly is a master of creating exquisite short stories, and Night Music is (if you'll excuse the music reference) "all killer, no filler!" The stories on offer range from charmingly whimsical to absolutely terrifying, with one or two being reminiscent of Clive Barker at his goriest best. - Starburst

  • Praise for NOCTURNES:

  • John Connolly's novels combine the supernatural with straightforward, if ingenious, crime, but his short stories come straight from the bowels of Hell . . . a real master of the macabre gets to show us how it's done. - The Times

  • Spookier than mere pastiche, meatier than pure pulp, Nocturnes hits exactly the right note in reinventing the golden age of ghost stories. - Independent on Sunday

  • Connolly writes about darkness and viciousness with an urban intelligence that makes these stories at once terrifying and delightful. - Time Out

Read More Read Less

Discover more

Left
loading...

Hell's Bells by John Connolly

loading...

The Whisperers Book Trailer - John Connolly

Right
Left
loading...

Hell's Bells by John Connolly

loading...

The Whisperers Book Trailer - John Connolly

Right

John Connolly

John Connolly is author of the Charlie Parker mysteries, The Book of Lost Things, the Samuel Johnson novels for young adults and, with his partner, Jennifer Ridyard, co-author of the Chronicles of the Invaders. John Connolly's debut - EVERY DEAD THING - introduced the character of Private Investigator Charlie Parker, and swiftly launched him right into the front rank of thriller writers. All his subsequent novels have been Sunday Times bestsellers. He was the winner of the 2016 CWA Short Story Dagger for On the Anatomization of an Unknown Man (1637) by Frans Mier from NIGHT MUSIC: Nocturnes Vol 2.

In 2007 he was awarded the Irish Post Award for Literature. He was the first non-American writer to win the US Shamus award and the first Irish writer to win an Edgar award. BOOKS TO DIE FOR, which he edited with Declan Burke, was the winner of the 2013 Anthony, Agatha and Macavity awards for Best Non-Fiction work.

This website uses cookies. Using this website means you are okay with this but you can find out more and learn how to manage your cookie choices here.Close cookie policy overlay