Your cart

Close

Total AUD

Checkout

Imprint

  • Quercus
  • Quercus
  • Quercus
  • Quercus

Playing Nice

JP Delaney

8 Reviews

Rated 0

Thriller / suspense, Political / legal thriller

THE SENSATIONAL NEW PSYCHOLOGICAL THRILLER FROM THE INTERNATIONALLY BESTSELLING AUTHOR OF THE GIRL BEFORE

'The kind of book that keeps you up at night' My Weekly
'Utterly terrifying and compelling' Stephanie Wrobel
'JP Delaney is King of Thrillers and Playing Nice is his best book yet' Fiona Cummins
'There is a precision about Delaney's characters that propels his twisty plots into unexpected and utterly convincing scenarios' Daily Mail

Pete Riley answers the door one morning to a parent's worst nightmare. On his doorstep is Miles Lambert, who breaks the devastating news that Pete's two-year-old, Theo, isn't Pete's real son - their babies got mixed up at birth.

The two families - Pete, his partner Maddie, and Miles and his wife Lucy - agree that, rather than swap the boys back, they'll try to find a more flexible way to share their children's lives. But a plan to sue the hospital triggers an investigation that unearths disturbing questions about just what happened the day the babies were switched.

And when Theo is thrown out of nursery for hitting other children, Maddie and Pete have to ask themselves: how far do they want this arrangement to go? What secrets lie hidden behind the Lamberts' smart front door? How much can they trust the real parents of their child - or even each other?

An addictive psychological thriller, perfect for fans of The Silent Patient and Shari Lapena's The Couple Next Door.

See what everyone is saying about JP Delaney, the hottest name in psychological thrillers: 'DAZZLING' - Lee Child
'ADDICTIVE' - Daily Express
'DEVASTATING' - Daily Mail
'INGENIOUS' - New York Times
'COMPULSIVE' - Glamour Magazine
'ELEGANT' - Peter James
'SEXY' - Mail on Sunday
'ENTHRALLING' - Woman and Home
'ORIGINAL' - The Times
'RIVETING' - Lisa Gardner
'CREEPY' - Heat
'SATISFYING' - Reader's Digest
'SUPERIOR' - The Bookseller
'MORE THAN A MATCH FOR PAULA HAWKINS' - Sunday Times

Read More Read Less

Praise for Playing Nice

  • There is a precision about Delaney's characters that propels his twisty plots into unexpected and utterly convincing scenarios - Daily Mail

  • Seriously, amazingly, awesomely brilliant - CJ Tudor, author of The Chalk Man

  • A tour-de-force . . . a compulsive and deeply thought-provoking psychological thriller - Cara Hunter, author of Close to Home

  • Dazzling - a pitch-perfect thriller - Lee Child

  • Original and brilliantly written - Sun

  • Dynamic, razor-sharp and thought-provoking . . . A must read! - Mary Kubica, author of The Good Girl

  • Terrifying and heartfelt - Woman & Home

  • The kind of book that keeps you up at night - My Weekly

Read More Read Less

Discover more

Left
loading...

The Girl Before by JP Delaney | Short Trailer

loading...

The Girl Before by JP Delaney | Trailer

Right
Left
loading...

The Girl Before by JP Delaney | Short Trailer

loading...

The Girl Before by JP Delaney | Trailer

Right

JP Delaney

THE GIRL BEFORE is the first psychological thriller from JP Delaney, a pseudonym for a writer who has previously written bestselling fiction under other names. It has been published in forty-one countries.

This website uses cookies. Using this website means you are okay with this but you can find out more and learn how to manage your cookie choices here.Close cookie policy overlay