Your cart

Close

Total AUD

Checkout

Imprint

  • Headline Review

Middlemere: A spellbinding novel of love, loyalty and the ties that bind

Judith Lennox

5 Reviews

Rated 0

Fiction, Historical fiction

Set in 1950s London, Middlemere is a spellbinding novel of love, loyalty and the ties that bind.

When a family is forced to leave its beloved home, the sense of injustice never dies...

Middlemere is a compelling tale of one family and their quest for independence from acclaimed author Judith Lennox. Perfect for fans of Dinah Jefferies and Kate Morton.

The Coles have lived in Middlemere for half a century. When, in 1942, they are threatened with eviction, they flee the house. But not before eight-year-old Romy, hiding in a cupboard, sees her father shot dead.

Years later Romy, now almost nineteen, is quick, clever and single-minded. She schemes to restore the family fortunes, to rescue her mother from drudgery and to protect her brother, Jem, a charming scoundrel who is always in trouble. Most of all, she longs to escape the poverty and narrowness of her surroundings. A chance meeting with Mirabel Plummer, owner of the exclusive London hotel, The Trelawney, is about to change Romy's life for ever...

What readers are saying about Judith Lennox:

'Ideal escapism'

'[Judith Lennox] is the ultimate storyteller... her stories are compelling and beautifully descriptive of both characters and feelings'

'Ms Lennox's writing is truly amazing, and creates characters
Read More Read Less

Praise for Middlemere: A spellbinding novel of love, loyalty and the ties that bind

  • 'A fast-moving, complex story' - The Times

  • 'A beautifully turned, compassionate novel. Judith Lennox's writing is so keenly honest it could sever heartstrings' - Daily Mail

  • 'Completely unputdownable...a lovely, entrancing book' - New Books magazine

  • 'A sensitive examination of love and loss by this master storyteller' - Choice magazine

  • 'A novel of passion and intrigue, this is an enjoyable read populated by believable characters' - Candis

Read More Read Less

Judith Lennox

Judith Lennox grew up in rural Hampshire and studied at the University of Lancaster, where she met her husband Iain; they have three sons, three grandsons and a granddaughter. Judith lives with her husband in Cambridge.

This website uses cookies. Using this website means you are okay with this but you can find out more and learn how to manage your cookie choices here.Close cookie policy overlay