Your cart

Close

Total AUD

Checkout

Imprint

  • Headline

Evening Street (A Bell Elkins Novella): A thrilling novel of suspense, betrayal and deceit

Julia Keller

6 Reviews

Rated 0

Fiction, Fiction-related items

An exclusive digital novella in the Bell Elkins crime series from Pulitzer prize winner Julia Keller. For fans of Linwood Barclay, Dennis Lehane and Henning Mankell.

Can Bell protect the innocent?

Lead prosecutor Bell Elkins returns in Evening Street, a gripping thriller from Pulitzer-Prize winning author Julia Keller. P
erfect for fans of Dennis Lehane and Linwood Barclay.

'A beautiful writer' - Michael Connelly

Attorney Bell Elkins' days are taken up by the high-profile cases that she prosecutes in Raythune County, West Virginia, a region scarred by poverty and prescription drug abuse. But her nights are very different.

Volunteering at an auxiliary intensive care unit where nurses deal with the youngest and most vulnerable victims of drug abuse - children born to mothers addicted to painkillers - is not for the faint-hearted but Bell feels a desperate need to help. Rocking ailing infants to sleep at the Evening Street care facility, she provides what medical science - for all of its marvels - cannot: a simple human touch.

One terrifying night, though, a distraught father breaks in and holds the staff and Bell hostage, demanding a reckoning for a family grudge. The drama quickly escalates toward a lethal flashpoint. At the centre of it all is a baby, only hours old. Can Bell ensure that he, indeed that all of the babies, survive the night?

What readers are saying about the Bell Elkins novels:

'Keller's style of writing is poetic and dramatic. It is incredibly unusual. She seamlessly weaves the story-lines together'

'Keller astounds me with her characterization, beautiful descriptions and absorbing plots'

'Interesting plots and wonderful, rich character development. Bell Elkins is an unforgettable character'

Read More Read Less

Praise for Evening Street (A Bell Elkins Novella): A thrilling novel of suspense, betrayal and deceit

  • Powerful and gripping... I want more

  • A rare talent and a must read

  • A gripping, beautifully crafted murder-mystery

  • A remarkably written and remarkably tense debut. I loved it

  • A terrific debut - atmospheric, suspenseful, assured. I hope there's more to come in the story of Bell Elkins and Acker's Gap

  • Be careful opening this book because once you do you won't be able to close it. A killer novel

Read More Read Less

Julia Keller

Julia Keller was born and raised in Huntington, West Virginia. The chief book critic for the Chicago Tribune, she has taught both creative and non-fiction writing at Princeton, the University of Notre Dame and the University of Chicago, and won the Pulitzer Prize for feature writing in 2005.

This website uses cookies. Using this website means you are okay with this but you can find out more and learn how to manage your cookie choices here.Close cookie policy overlay