Your cart

Close

Total AUD

Checkout

Imprint

  • Orion
  • Orion
  • Orion

Summer People: The captivating and romantic beach read you don t want to miss in 2022!

Julie Cohen

Write Review

Rated 0

Modern & contemporary fiction (post c 1945)

A captivating and escapist emotional drama set on the shores of a beautiful island, this is the perfect, unputdownable beach read for fans of Karen Swan, Anstey Harris and Holly Miller from the bestselling author of Together.

'Tender, complex, complicated and passionate: a heady mix that doesn't let up until the final page. Stunning.' VERONICA HENRY

'So evocative. A great summer read!' GOOD HOUSEKEEPING

'Loved every page!' CLAIRE DYER

'A story of love and friendship, it's captivating!' HEAT

A love that can't be stopped.


A secret that will change everything...



Marriages end with a whisper, not a bang. Not an argument, which is after all about passion, waves crashing on a shore, but with the small pockets of coldness that an argument creates. It's like islands. They don't sink like Atlantis. They wear away, little by little, until all you've got left is a single rock and a light. A warning to safer travellers to stay away.

The last time Vee left the shores of Unity Island, she thought she'd left forever. But this summer, she's returning with her charming husband, Mike.

Vee's unexpected arrival, this time as one of the wealthy 'summer people', sets the small island community alight with gossip. What's more, her childhood best friend, Sterling, is furious that she's come back - Vee abandoned him when he needed her most.

And then Vee meets Rachel, Sterling's wife, and a spark is ignited within her that she can't extinguish. And as summer turns to autumn, long-buried secrets emerge that will cause a storm greater than any of them could ever have imagined.

But when autumn comes, who will sail away with the tide and who will choose to stay behind on the island...?

Read More Read Less

Julie Cohen

Julie Cohen grew up in the western mountains of Maine and studied English at Brown University and Cambridge University before pursuing a research degree in nineteenth century fairies. After a career as a secondary school English teacher, she became a novelist. Her award-winning novels have sold over a million copies worldwide. Dear Thing and Together were both selected for the Richard and Judy Book Club. Julie is a teacher of creative writing, a Vice President of the Romantic Novelists' Association, a founder of the RNA Rainbow Chapter for LGBTQ+ authors, and a Patron of literacy charity ABC To Read. She lives in the south of England with her son and a terrier of dubious origin.

Twitter: @julie_cohen
Website: HYPERLINK "http://www.julie-cohen.com" www.julie-cohen.com

This website uses cookies. Using this website means you are okay with this but you can find out more and learn how to manage your cookie choices here.Close cookie policy overlay