Your cart

Close

Total AUD

Checkout

Imprint

  • Headline Review
  • Headline Review
  • Headline Review

A Gathering of Ghosts

Karen Maitland

5 Reviews

Rated 0

Modern & contemporary fiction (post c 1945), Historical fiction

The new medieval thriller from Queen of the Dark Ages Karen Maitland, set on the wilds of Dartmoor.

Pagans tackle the Knights of St John with terrible consequences in the new medieval thriller by Queen of the Dark Ages, Karen Maitland. Set on the wilds of Dartmoor, this is a ghostly tale for fans of The Essex Serpent, C. J. Sansom's Shardlake series and The Burning Chambers by Kate Mosse.

'A dark read... fear and hysteria are portrayed with claustrophobic skill' The Times on THE PLAGUE CHARMER

1316. On the wilds of Dartmoor stands the isolated Priory of St Mary, home to the Sisters of the Knights of St John. People journey from afar in search of healing at the holy well that lies beneath its chapel.

But the locals believe Dartmoor was theirs long before Christianity came to the land. And not all who visit seek miracles. When three strangers reach the moor, fear begins to stir as the well's waters run with blood.

What witchcraft have the young woman, the Knight of St John and the blind child brought with them?

The Sisters will need to fight for everything they hold dear as the ghosts of the Old World gather in their midst.

Read More Read Less

Praise for A Gathering of Ghosts

  • A brilliant writer, with a real sense of history

  • Fear and hysteria are portrayed with claustrophobic skill - The Times on THE PLAGUE CHARMER

  • Utterly immerses you in the dark shadowy superstitions of the time - Booktrail on THE PLAGUE CHARMER

  • The queen of the dark ages - Bookeaters on THE PLAGUE CHARMER

  • A dark, enthralling book with an unexpected hero

Read More Read Less

Karen Maitland

Karen Maitland travelled and worked in many parts of the United Kingdom before settling for many years in the beautiful medieval city of Lincoln, an inspiration for her writing. She is the author of The White Room, Company of Liars, The Owl Killers, The Gallows Curse and The Falcons of Fire and Ice. She has recently relocated to a life of rural bliss in Devon.

www.karenmaitland.com

This website uses cookies. Using this website means you are okay with this but you can find out more and learn how to manage your cookie choices here.Close cookie policy overlay