Your cart

Close

Total AUD

Checkout

Imprint

  • Quercus
  • Quercus
  • Quercus

What She Never Told Me

Kate McQuaile

3 Reviews

Rated 0

Ireland, Fiction, Modern & contemporary fiction (post c 1945), Thriller / suspense

What do you do when you find out that your whole life could be a lie? A chilling family drama for fans of Sue Fortin, Louise Candlish and Sabine Durrant's Lie With Me.

I talked to my mother the night she died, losing myself in memories of when we were happiest together. But I held one memory back, and it surfaces now. I see a green postbox and a small hand stretching up to its oblong mouth. I am never sure whether that small hand is mine. But if not mine, whose?

Louise Redmond left Ireland for London before she was twenty. Now, more than two decades later, her heart already breaking from a failing marriage, she is summoned home. Her mother is on her deathbed, and it is Louise's last chance to learn the whereabouts of a father she never knew.

Stubborn to the end, Marjorie refuses to fill in the pieces of her daughter's fragmented past. Then Louise unexpectedly finds a lead. A man called David Prescott . . . but is he really the father she's been trying to find? And who is the mysterious little girl who appears so often in her dreams? As each new piece of the puzzle leads to another question, Louise begins to suspect that the memories she most treasures could be a delicate web of lies.

Read More Read Less

Praise for What She Never Told Me

  • Elegant, clever and totally convincing - Sunday Mirror

  • What She Never Told Me pulls you in from the first page in its exploration of love and identity, and the complicated bonds that tie families together. An absorbing read - Karen Perry, bestselling author of The Boy That Never Was

  • McQuaile displays great empathy for her characters in this tale of an Ireland where the past can never be left behind - Sinead Crowley, author of Can Anybody Help Me?

Read More Read Less

Kate McQuaile

Kate McQuaile is a graduate of the Faber novel-writing course. She lives in London and works as a journalist, but is originally from Drogheda in Ireland.

This website uses cookies. Using this website means you are okay with this but you can find out more and learn how to manage your cookie choices here.Close cookie policy overlay