Your cart

Close

Total AUD

Checkout

Imprint

  • Headline Review
  • Headline Review
  • Headline Review

Hollow Kingdom

Kira Jane Buxton

3 Reviews

Rated 0

Fiction

One pet crow fights to save humanity from an apocalypse in this uniquely hilarious, big-hearted and beautiful debut.

A humorous, big-hearted and boundlessly beautiful romp through the apocalypse and the world that comes after, where even a cowardly crow can become a hero. Perfect for fans of Isaac Marion's WARM BODIES.

'A thoroughly enjoyable account of the end of the world as we know it. THE SECRET LIFE OF PETS meets THE WALKING DEAD.' Karen Joy Fowler, PEN/Faulkner Award-winning author of WE ARE ALL COMPLETELY BESIDE OURSELVES

'It's transformative, poignant, and funny as hell. S.T. the irrepressible, cursing crow is my new favourite apocalyptic hero.' Helen Macdonald, New York Times bestselling author of H IS FOR HAWK

S.T. is a domesticated crow. He is a bird of simple pleasures: hanging out with his owner Big Jim, trading insults with Seattle's wild crows (those idiots) and enjoying the finest food humankind has to offer: Cheetos.

But when Big Jim's eyeball falls out of his head, S.T. starts to feel like something isn't right. His most tried-and-true remedies - from beak-delivered beer to the slobbering affection of the loyal, but dim-witted, dog Dennis - fail to cure his owner.

S.T. is left with no choice but to venture out into a frightening new world, where he discovers that the neighbours are devouring each other, and the local wildlife is abuzz with rumours of dangerous new predators roaming Seattle...

Humanity's extinction has arrived, and the only one determined to save it is a foul-mouthed crow.

Readers love HOLLOW KINGDOM...

'...wildly original and inventive, funny and profane' Laurie Frankel, author of THIS IS HOW IT ALWAYS IS
'I love this book so much! I wanted to set it on fire while hugging it.' Jamie Ford, New York Times bestselling author of HOTEL ON THE CORNER OF BITTER AND SWEET

Read More Read Less

Praise for Hollow Kingdom

  • A thoroughly enjoyable account of the end of the world as we know it. The Secret Life of Pets meets The Walking Dead. - Karen Joy Fowler, PEN/Faulkner Award-winning author of We Are All Completely Beside Ourselves

  • It's transformative, poignant, and funny as hell. S.T. the irrepressible, cursing crow is my new favourite apocalyptic hero. - Helen Macdonald, New York Times bestselling author of H Is for Hawk

  • Everything you're hearing about Kira Jane Buxton's Hollow Kingdom--that it's wildly original and inventive, funny and profane--is wonderfully true. - Laurie Frankel, author of This is How It Always Is

Read More Read Less

Kira Jane Buxton

Kira Jane Buxton's writing has appeared in The New York Times, NewYorker.com, McSweeney's, The Rumpus, Huffington Post, and more. She calls the tropical utopia of Seattle home and spends her time with three cats, a dog, two crows, a charm of hummingbirds, and a husband.

This website uses cookies. Using this website means you are okay with this but you can find out more and learn how to manage your cookie choices here.Close cookie policy overlay