Your cart

Close

Total AUD

Checkout

Imprint

  • Trapeze
  • Trapeze

The Devil's Claw

Lara Dearman

Write Review

Rated 0

Channel Islands, Fiction, Crime & mystery, Thriller / suspense

An atmospheric crime series set in the Channel Islands, that will appeal to fans of Ann Cleeves, Peter May and Elly Griffiths

An atmospheric new crime series set in the Channel Islands, for readers of Ann Cleeves, Peter May and Elly Griffiths.

Jennifer Dorey thinks she is safe.


Following a traumatic incident in London, Jennifer has returned to her childhood home in Guernsey, taking a job as a reporter at the local newspaper.

After the discovery of a drowned woman on a beach, she uncovers a pattern of similar deaths that have taken place over the past fifty years.

Together with DCI Michael Gilbert, an officer on the verge of retirement, they follow a dark trail of island myths and folklore to 'Fritz', the illegitimate son of a Nazi soldier. His work, painstakingly executed, has so far gone undetected.

But with his identity about to be uncovered, the killer now has Jennifer in his sights.

And home is the last place she should be.

THE DEVIL'S CLAW introduces readers to returning characters journalist Jennifer Dorey and DCI Michael Gilbert.

Read More Read Less

Lara Dearman

Lara Dearman grew up on the island of Guernsey, where she spent a good part of her childhood exploring abandoned Nazi bunkers, listening to her dad's stories about local witches' covens and haunted houses and reading - anything she could get her hands on, but preferably The Famous Five. She moved to 'the Mainland' to study International Relations and French at Sussex University before briefly pursuing a career in finance in London. Long days spent crunching numbers were followed by long nights curled up with a good book - invariably an atmospheric murder mystery or crime thriller. Having put her career on hold to care for her family, Lara found herself living on a very different island when her husband's job took them to Singapore for three years. It was here, at the edge of the jungle, thousands of miles away from home and looking after two young children, that Lara began to think, rather longingly, of Guernsey. And that is when she began to write. On her return to London she enrolled on the MA in Creative Writing at St Mary's University and, as part of her studies, wrote The Devil's Claw. She graduated with a distinction in 2016. Lara now lives in New York with her husband and three children. She still misses Guernsey.