Your cart

Close

Total AUD

Checkout

Imprint

  • Hodder Paperbacks
  • Hodder & Stoughton

The Spindlers

Lauren Oliver

14 Reviews

Rated 0

Fiction, General fiction (Children's / Teenage), Adventure stories (Children's / Teenage), Fantasy & magical realism (Children's / Teenage), Family & home stories (Children's / Teenage)

An enchanting, delightfully creepy adventure for children aged 8-12 from bestselling author Lauren Oliver.

One day when Liza went to bed, Patrick was her chubby, stubby, candy-grubbing, and pancake-loving younger brother, who irritated and amused her both, and the next morning, when she woke up, he was not.
In fact, he was quite, quite different.

When Liza's brother, Patrick, changes overnight, Liza knows exactly what has happened: the spindlers have gotten to him, and stolen his soul. She knows, too, that she is the only one who can save him.

To rescue Patrick, Liza must go Below, armed with little more than her wits and a broom. There, she uncovers a vast world populated with talking rats, music-loving moles, greedy troglods, and overexcitable nids... as well as strange monsters and terrible dangers. But she will face her greatest challenge at the spindlers' nests, where she encounters the evil Queen and must pass a series of deadly tests - or else her soul, too, will remain Below forever.

Read More Read Less

Praise for The Spindlers

  • This fun, creepy story is full of mystery and adventure that will appeal to young readers - Press Association on THE SPINDLERS

  • In the tradition of Alice's Adventures in Wonderland, The Lion, the Witch and the Wardrobe and Coraline, The Spindlers is a frightening and fantastical heroine's quest. It offers terrifying and delightful creatures, daunting tasks and plenty of magic . . . The humour and writing is playful and clever in all the right ways - New York Times

  • This imaginative fantasy emphasizes individual initiative and the power of hope and friendship. Below is a fully realized alternate world with echoes of both classic literature and mythology. This is particularly notable in its variety of inhabitants. Although the creatures are Oliver's own creations, such beings as the winged, dream-bearing nocturni and the shape-shifting, cannibalistic scawgs have the feel of true folklore. With strong, self-reliant female characters and well-defined action, this is a strong addition to fantasy collections. - School Library Journal on THE SPINDLERS

  • The Spindlers is an intensely imagined mini-epic. Young Liza has to journey through a fantasy underworld to reclaim the soul of her brother Patrick. Accompanied by a rat wearing a wig, she sees off various outlandish creatures before a final show-down with the utterly villainous Spindler Queen. - Independent

  • Liesl & Po by Lauren Oliver brings much-needed magic to an increasingly ne

  • It is a story that has deep roots in a variety of different kinds of children's fiction, and borrows ideas from many which helps to make it a wonderful journey through a magical and absurd underground landscape.

  • Oliver's magical, mesmerizing quest affirms the saving power of story, friendship, and love. - Publishers Weekly

  • Invigorating and hopeful, this novel testifies to the power of friendship and generosity to conquer greed and depression. - Publishers Weekly on LIESL & PO

  • A gorgeous story - timeless and magical. - Rebecca Stead, Newbery winner for When You Reach Me on LIESL & PO

  • This fun, creepy story is full of mystery and adventure that will appeal to young readers - Press Association on THE SPINDLERS

  • It is a story that has deep roots in a variety of different kind

  • An absolute delight . . . The story is packed with mystery, murder, adventure, humour and magic, but above all it is a beautiful evocation of loss, tempered by the gradual blossoming of friendship, trust and hope. Although aimed at younger readers, the lightness of touch and the tenderness of the message could make grown men weep. - Daily Mail on LIESL & PO

  • Oliver's magical, mesmerizing quest affirms the saving power of story, friendship, and love. - Publishers Weekly on THE SPINDLERS

  • The Spindlers is fun and exciting, and definitely a little creepy - but not too scary for the age range. It's as beautiful and enchanting as we've come to expect from Oliver's middle grade writing, but with a darker edge... The Spindlers is a fantastic story that will spark children's imaginations and take them on a spine-tingling ride of excitement! - www.onceuponabookcase.blogspot.co.uk

Read More Read Less

Discover more

Left
loading...

Rooms by Lauren Oliver

loading...

Before I Fall by Lauren Oliver

Right
Left
loading...

Rooms by Lauren Oliver

loading...

Before I Fall by Lauren Oliver

Right

Lauren Oliver

Lauren Oliver captivated readers with her achingly beautiful first novel, BEFORE I FALL. She followed that up with her bestselling young adult Delirium Trilogy and three adult novels. Her newest book, REPLICA, is out in late 2016.

She is also the author of three novels for young readers, including the CURIOSITY HOUSE series. A graduate of the University of Chicago and NYU's MFA program, she lives in Brooklyn, New York.

Find more information at www.laurenoliverbooks.com, or connect with Lauren on Twitter (/OliverBooks) and on Facebook (/laurenoliverbooks).