Your cart

Close

Total AUD

Checkout

Imprint

  • Jo Fletcher Books
  • Jo Fletcher Books
  • Jo Fletcher Books

The Witch at Wayside Cross: Jesperson and Lane Book II

Lisa Tuttle

Write Review

Rated 0

Jesperson and Lane, Fiction, Crime & mystery, Fantasy

Sequel to The Somnambulist and the Psychic Thief, this terribly witty Victorian series of adventures is perfect for fans of Sherlock Holmes, Sally Lockheart and The Night Circus.

Should you find yourself in need of a discreet investigation into any sort of mystery, crime or puzzling circumstances, think of Jesperson and Lane . . .

Jesperson and Lane have just solved their first major case when a man bangs violently on their door - and almost immediately drops dead. The police rule death by natural causes, but the detectives are determined to find out what really happened . . .

Mr Manning was screaming about witches before his death.

The case takes them to Mr Manning's Norfolk home, a land of mysterious Shrieking Pits and ancient knowledge. Mr Manning was himself a member of the enigmatic School of Ancient British Wisdom, and not the first to suffer a similar fate. Local gossip suggests that he was secretly engaged to one of the three lovely sisters who reside at Wayside Cross - but which one? Are they really witches, as the gossips also claim?

And what does all this have to do with the mysterious Shrieking Pits and a mother desperate to find her missing baby?

Jesperson and Lane, at your service.

'One of the SF and fantasy & horror field's most urbane - and much under-appreciated- writers' Love Reading

Read More Read Less

Lisa Tuttle

Lisa Tuttle was born and raised in Texas, but moved to Britain in the 1980s. She now lives with her writer husband and their daughter on the side of a Scottish loch. She has written more than a dozen fantasy, science fiction and horror novels.

This website uses cookies. Using this website means you are okay with this but you can find out more and learn how to manage your cookie choices here.Close cookie policy overlay