Your cart

Close

Total AUD

Checkout

Imprint

  • Headline
  • Headline

The Liverpool Matchgirl: The heart-rending saga of a motherless Liverpool girl

Lyn Andrews

5 Reviews

Rated 0

North West England, c 1900 - c 1914, Historical romance, Sagas

Lizzie Tempest is thirteen years old when she finds herself parentless and alone on the streets of Liverpool. Brave and determined, Lizzie must fight for the bright future she deserves. From the bestselling author of THE HOUSE ON LONELY STREET and LIVERPOOL SISTERS

Parentless and alone on the streets of Liverpool, Lizzie must fight for a brighter future...

A nostalgic and poignant saga of Liverpool in the years before the First World War, from the Sunday Times bestselling author Lyn Andrews.

Perfect for fans of Dilly Court, Donna Douglas and Rosie Goodwin.

Liverpool, 1901. The Tempest family is all but destitute, barely able to put food on the table. When Florrie falls ill with pneumonia and Arthur is imprisoned after a drunken fight, their thirteen-year-old daughter Lizzie finds herself parentless, desperate and alone.

Despite her young age, Lizzie has spirit and determination, and she knows that she must find work to keep herself off the streets. In a stroke of luck, she gets a job in the match factory, and foreman George Rutherford takes her under his wing. A new home with the Rutherfords promises a safe haven, but the years ahead will be far from trouble-free. And when Lizzie gives her heart, how can she be sure she has chosen a better man than her own father?


What readers are saying about The Liverpool Matchgirl:

'I couldn't put it down' Amazon reader, 5 stars

'Love this book...another brilliant novel from a brilliant author' Amazon reader, 5 stars

'An excellent read, Lyn Andrews never disappoints' Amazon reader, 5 stars

Read More Read Less

Praise for The Liverpool Matchgirl: The heart-rending saga of a motherless Liverpool girl

  • Praise for Lyn Andrews: 'An outstanding storyteller' - Woman's Weekly

  • A vivid portrayal of life - Best

  • A compelling read - Woman's Own

  • The Catherine Cookson of Liverpool - Northern Echo

  • Gutsy...a vivid picture of a hard-up, hard-working community...will keep the pages turning - Daily Express

Read More Read Less

Lyn Andrews

Lyn Andrews was born in Liverpool in 1944; her father Joseph was killed on D-Day just nine months later. Lyn was brought up in Liverpool and became a secretary before she married and gave birth to triplets. Once the children had gone to school Lyn began writing, and her first novel was quickly accepted for publication. She has since written over thirty books, many of them Sunday Times bestsellers.

Lyn lives on the Isle of Man, but spends many weeks of the year back on Merseyside, seeing her children and grandchildren.

www.lynandrewsbooks.co.uk
www.facebook.com/LynAndrewsBooks
Twitter: @LynSagaAuthor

This website uses cookies. Using this website means you are okay with this but you can find out more and learn how to manage your cookie choices here.Close cookie policy overlay