Your cart

Close

Total AUD

Checkout

Imprint

  • Headline Eternal
  • Headline Eternal

To Have and to Hoax

Martha Waters

Write Review

Rated 0

Historical romance

Filled with charm, wit, and heart, To Have and to Hoax is a fresh and eminently entertaining romantic comedy - perfect for fans of Jasmine Guillory and Julia Quinn's Bridgerton series.

If you love Sophie Ranald, Jo Watson and Julia Quinn's Bridgertons, you'll love Martha Waters ingenious, laugh-out-loud rom-com, To Have and to Hoax!

'Waters's debut Regency rom-com delights with hilarious, high-concept romantic schemes...this joyful, elegant romp is sure to enchant' Publishers Weekly, starred review

Five years ago, Lady Violet Grey and Lord James Audley met, fell in love, and got married. Four years ago, they had a fight to end all fights, and have barely spoken since.

Their once-passionate love match has been reduced to one of cold, detached politeness. But when Violet receives a letter that James has been thrown from his horse and rendered unconscious at their country estate, she races to be by his side - only to discover him alive and well at a tavern, and completely unaware of her concern. She's outraged. He's confused. And the distance between them has never been more apparent.

Wanting to teach her estranged husband a lesson, Violet decides to feign an illness of her own. James quickly sees through it, but he decides to play along in an ever-escalating game of manipulation, featuring actors masquerading as doctors, threats of Swiss sanitariums, faux mistresses - and a lot of flirtation between a husband and wife who might not hate each other as much as they thought. Will the two be able to overcome four years of hurt or will they continue to deny the spark between them?

'Endlessly charming...absorbing and clever and at times laugh-out-loud funny' Kate Clayborn, author of Love Lettering

'To Have and to Hoax is a delightful battle of wits that's funny and touching all at once. James and Violet are perfectly matched, and you'll love watching the sparks fly as they both infuriate each other and fall in love all over again' Jen DeLuca, author of Well Met

'A laugh out loud Regency romp - if you loved the Bridgertons, you'll adore To Have and to Hoax!' Lauren Willig, New York Times bestselling author

Read More Read Less
This website uses cookies. Using this website means you are okay with this but you can find out more and learn how to manage your cookie choices here.Close cookie policy overlay