Your cart

Close

Total AUD

Checkout

Imprint

  • Orion Children's Books
  • Orion Children's Books

The Cake the Wolf and the Witch

Maudie Smith

7 Reviews

Rated 0

Fiction, Children's Fiction, Adventure stories (Children's / Teenage), Family & home stories (Children's / Teenage)

A brilliantly scrambled fairy tale about world-weary Max, his unwanted new family - and their very unexpected quest to save the Land of Ever After, from Maudie Smith, author of the Opal Moonbaby series and bestselling illustrator of Horrid Henry, Tony Ross.

Max doesn't believe in happy endings. He doesn't even like stories. So when he finds himself whisked away in a giant cake to The Land of Ever After, Max is NOT impressed.

But the people of Ever After are in trouble, and they need Max's help.

Will Max agree to go on a dangerous quest to save their world? And if he doesn't, how will he and his brand new brother and sister ever get home?

A mixed-up and fresh take on the fairy tale, with a sprinkle of Jacqueline Wilson and Liz Kessler, and perfect for fans of Enid Blyton's The Magic Faraway Tree.

'Endlessly inventive' - Piers Torday, award-winning author of The Last Wild.

Read More Read Less

Praise for The Cake the Wolf and the Witch

  • A little like Pippi Longstocking meets Dodie Smith ... with a sprinkle of Jacqueline Wilson-esque social commentary thrown in for good measure. I really enjoyed this. It's got a certain, almost old-fashioned, charm to it - DID YOU EVER STOP TO THINK

  • Now - I want you to remember the name of Opal Moonbaby - she's a brilliant comic creation ... Opal sparkles and she's totally original. I loved her. And Maudie Smith gives us a great story too. She's pitch-perfect on the way that girls in this age group act - THE BOOKBAG

  • A touching story deliciously tinged with magic - LOVE READING4KIDS

  • The story of an alien who comes to earth on a mission to make friends, this is a rather lovely debut. Quirky and very charming, Opal is something of a futuristic Pippi Longstocking, which can only be a good thing - BOOKSELLER

  • You can't put down this brilliant, magical and hilarious book - I had to read it again. [Opal Moonbaby is a] very well written story about aliens, friendships and challenges. Opal, Martha and Robbie are very good characters because of their great sense of humour when things aren't always that easy. I have read this book a lot of times and it never gets boring

  • Opal Moonbaby is one of my favourite books because it is so imaginative. Opal Moonbaby is funny, creative, quirky and heart-warming

  • This is a great book which has ... lots of funny, zany twists. I would recommend this book to boys and girls 7 years and up who enjoy a quirky tale with cliffhangers, problem solving and touches of magic - GUARDIAN CHILDREN S BOOKS

Read More Read Less

Maudie Smith

Maudie Smith began her career as an actor. She spent years perching on scenery in the back of a van, while touring with a small-scale theatre company. In children's theatre, she played well-known characters such as Piglet and the Snow Queen. She co-devised many of the plays in which she performed and has written lyrics for musicals, cabaret and a libretto. She recently graduated from Bath Spa University with an MA in Writing for Young People. Maudie lives in a village near Bath with her screenwriter husband, two daughters, two cats, two chickens and far too many stick insects.

Visit her website http://www.maudiesmith.co.uk/ and follow her on Twitter @MaudieSmith

This website uses cookies. Using this website means you are okay with this but you can find out more and learn how to manage your cookie choices here.Close cookie policy overlay