Your cart

Close

Total AUD

Checkout

Imprint

  • Headline
  • Headline
  • Headline
  • Headline
  • Headline

Over My Dead Body: Dr Miriam Price has been murdered. And she's absolutely furious about it.

Maz Evans

9 Reviews

Rated 0

Modern & contemporary fiction (post c 1945), Crime & mystery, Classic crime, Thriller / suspense

An original, hilarious and heart-warming crime novel about a woman investigating her own death, perfect for fans of Richard Osman and Janice Hallett.

'Laugh-out-loud hilarious, moving and life affirming. How can one book be so many things? I couldn't put this fabulous, first class, five star read down.' JANICE HALLETT
'Thoroughly wicked, compulsively page-turning, and funny as hell.' S J BENNETT

Hello? Can you hear me? Probably not. I'm Dr Miriam Price . . . and I'm dead.
The local police, who couldn't investigate their own nostrils, think I drank myself into an early grave. The nerve! I was murdered. I was just too plastered to know whodunnit, that's all.

Unless I prove to my inquest this week that my death was no 'misadventure', I'm condemned to 50 years in Limbo. I have to find my killer - but I can't communicate with any living human. Well, there's one, but she barely qualifies . . . Winnie - my neighbour and nemesis. It seems the dying can interact with the dead, which is helpful news for me, if not stellar for Winnie. Oh well. She'll live. Maybe.

Suspects? How long have you got? My saintly husband, who'd reached his limit? My best friend, who was anything but? My secret lover, or his wife? My disgruntled colleague? The mother who wrongly holds me responsible for her child's death? Professor Plum? Your guess is as good as mine.

So Winnie - slap on your deerstalker and strap on your granny pants. Let's catch a killer! Assuming we don't kill each other first . . .

'A triumph...there are also moving moments amid the hilarity' DAILY MIRROR
'Splendidly offbeat whodunnit....Evans knows how to make an unlikely plot seem entirely believable' DAILY EXPRESS
'Sometimes a book comes along that reminds you why you fell in love with reading. Imaginative, witty and original...an absolute joy!' WOMAN & HOME

Read More Read Less

Praise for Over My Dead Body: Dr Miriam Price has been murdered. And she's absolutely furious about it.

  • Splendidly offbeat whodunnit....Evans knows how to make an unlikely plot seem entirely believable. - DAILY EXPRESS

  • - SALLY PAGE

  • Clever, wise and properly funny. An absolute triumph - LUCY MANGAN

  • A very different take on a whodunnit. Warm, wacky and witty. I loved it!

  • Sometimes a book comes along that reminds you why you fell in love with reading. Imaginative, witty and original...an absolute joy! - WOMAN & HOME

  • Laugh-out-loud hilarious, moving and life affirming. How can one book be so many things? I couldn't put this fabulous, first class, five star read down.

  • Thoroughly wicked, compulsively page-turning, and funny as hell.

  • A really entertaining read that will appeal to fans of Richard Osman - GOOD HOUSEKEEPING

  • A triumph...there are also moving moments amid the hilarity - DAILY MIRROR

Read More Read Less

Maz Evans

Maz Evans is one of the funniest authors writing today. She visits hundreds of schools, libraries and festivals across the world each year to talk about her books. She has been an award-winning songwriter, TV journalist and scriptwriter. As an author, she has won the hearts of thousands of children. As a nuclear physicist, she has been completely rubbish.

This website uses cookies. Using this website means you are okay with this but you can find out more and learn how to manage your cookie choices here.Close cookie policy overlay