Your cart

Close

Total AUD

Checkout

Imprint

  • Jo Fletcher Books

The Tower and Knife Trilogy: The Patternmaster is bent on destroying the mighty Cerani Empire and all that stands in the way is a forgotten prince, a world-weary killer and a naive young woman from the steppes

Mazarkis Williams

8 Reviews

Rated 0

Fantasy

Only a forgotten prince and a girl from the grasslands can stop the Pattern Master in this 'compelling' (Publishers Weekly starred) fantasy trilogy, perfect for fans of Mark Lawrence and Brandon Sanderson. This omnibus edition includes The Emperor's Knife, Knife-Sword and The Tower Broken.

There is a cancer at the heart of the mighty Cerani empire: a plague that first marks its victims, then covers the skin in geometric patterns until they die in agony - or are subsumed, their bodies now in thrall to the Pattern Master, a sorcerer of immense power. Emperor Beyon's law is that any hint of the pattern means death, before they become another puppet for the Pattern Master to use for his own evil ends - for he will see the Cerani Empire reduced to dust and whispers.

No one but his mother knows the emperor himself is infected. Now she looks to her only other living son, Prince Sarmin, locked in a tower since Beyon ascended the throne. A bride is chosen, a girl from the grasslands quite unused to the politics and intrigue of the imperial court - but she is strong-willed and determined, and she once saw a path in a pattern in the waving grasses: a path that might just save them all.

'I highly recommend this series: tight storytelling, several interesting viewpoints, complex characters' SciFi Fan Letter

Read More Read Less

Praise for The Tower and Knife Trilogy: The Patternmaster is bent on destroying the mighty Cerani Empire and all that stands in the way is a forgotten prince, a world-weary killer and a naive young woman from the steppes

  • Williams conjures a world with strong flavours of the early Ottoman Empire, mediaeval Persia and Arabian legend. It makes for a rich and entertaining storytelling environment, and Williams creates a twisty and enjoyable tale. Strongly recommended. 4/5 stars - SFX Magazine

  • Though trilogy endings are usually predictable, Williams is keen on heroic sacrifice and willing to let characters fail, keeping the reader in some suspense about whether Sarmin and company will preserve their world or die with it - Publishers Weekly

  • I'll always be a little in love with Williams' beautiful writing . . . I really can't decide which one I liked better. The trilogy may be over, but I would read any future books by Mazarkis Williams in a heartbeat! 4/5 - Bibliosanctum

  • I have adored [this series] since the first book came out. A captivating fantasy with a difference - Speconspecfic

  • Amazing, strong . . . Not one single disappointment in its three book run. Highly recommended - thefoundingfields.com

  • I highly recommend this series: tight storytelling, several interesting viewpoints, complex characters - SciFi Fan Letter

  • The Tower and Knife trilogy is undeniably a strong and alluring series and worth reading in its entirety - British Fantasy Society Journal

  • This series blends court intrigue, political conspiracy, thriller and fantasy into a world that's absolutely fascinating - Popcorn Reads

Read More Read Less

Mazarkis Williams

Mazarkis Williams is the pseudonym of a Sunday Times bestselling and award-winning fantasy author and a critically acclaimed American writer. The Tower and Knife trilogy is their first joint project: the three-book Silk Road fantasy set in a political Oriental world filled with betrayal and intrigue.

This website uses cookies. Using this website means you are okay with this but you can find out more and learn how to manage your cookie choices here.Close cookie policy overlay