Your cart

Close

Total AUD

Checkout

Imprint

  • Gollancz
  • Gollancz
  • Gollancz

A Fool's Hope: Book Two

Mike Shackle

6 Reviews

Rated 0

Fantasy

War takes everything.

From Tinnstra, it took her family and thrust her into a conflict she wanted only to avoid. Now her queen's sole protector, she must give all she has left to keep Zorique safe.

It has taken just as much from Jia's revolutionaries. Dren and Jax - battered, tortured, once enemies themselves - must hold strong against their bruised invaders, the Egril.

For the Egril intend to wipe Jia from the map. They may have lost a battle, but they are coming back.

If Tinnstra and her allies hope to survive, Jia's heroes will need to be ready when they do.

The sequel to the darkly fantastic WE ARE THE DEAD: with more unflinching action, A FOOL'S HOPE sees Jia's revolutionaries dig in their heels as they learn that wars aren't won in a day.

* * * * * * * * * *

THE LAST WAR

Book One: We Are the Dead

Read More Read Less

Praise for A Fool's Hope: Book Two

  • Likely the next Game of Thrones, and the best book I've read in several years. . . I can't think how to tone down my enthusiasm

  • Like Tarantino crossed with David Gemmell . . . Shackle has come up with something really special

  • Hooked from page one, We Are the Dead rattles along with the pace of a runaway bullet train . . . This is a powerful debut and Shackle is an author to watch.

  • A masterpiece of a story about hope, resistance and fellowship - The Book Bag

  • We Are the Dead is a staggering, marvellous and gripping fantasy debut - Grimdark Magazine

  • Fans of Joe Abercrombie and R.F. Kuang are sure to find something to love here - Fantasy Hive

Read More Read Less

Mike Shackle

Originally from London, Mike Shackle has called Hong Kong, Singapore, Beijing, New York and Dubai his home over the years before settling down with his family in Vancouver. In that time, he's sold washing machines, cooked for royalty, designed a few logos, and made a lot of ads. Ideally, he's happiest day dreaming over a cup of tea.

This website uses cookies. Using this website means you are okay with this but you can find out more and learn how to manage your cookie choices here.Close cookie policy overlay