Your cart

Close

Total AUD

Checkout

Imprint

  • Sceptre
  • Sceptre

Hollywood Park

Mikel Jollett

7 Reviews

Rated 0

Memoirs

The New York Times bestselling memoir of a tumultuous life that started in one of America's most infamous cults and took the author, Mikel Jollett, to worldwide fame as a musican, for fans of Educated, Unfollow and Unorthodox.

**THE INSTANT NEW YORK TIMES BESTSELLER**

'A Gen-X This Boy's Life...Music and his fierce brilliance boost Jollett; a visceral urge to leave his background behind propels him to excel... In the end, Jollett shakes off the past to become the captain of his own soul. Hollywood Park is a triumph.' -O, The Oprah Magazine

'This moving and profound memoir is for anyone who loves a good redemption story.'- Good Morning America, 20 Books We're Excited for in 2020

HOLLYWOOD PARK is a remarkable memoir of a tumultuous life. Mikel Jollett was born into one of the country's most infamous cults, and subjected to a childhood filled with poverty, addiction, and emotional abuse. Yet, ultimately, his is a story of fierce love and family loyalty told in a raw, poetic voice that signals the emergence of a uniquely gifted writer.

Mikel Jollett was born in an experimental commune in California, which later morphed into the Church of Synanon, one of the country's most infamous and dangerous cults. Per the leader's mandate, all children, including Jollett and his older brother, were separated from their parents when they were six months old, and handed over to the cult's 'School'. After spending years in what was essentially an orphanage, Mikel escaped the cult one morning with his mother and older brother. But in many ways, life outside Synanon was even harder and more erratic.

In his raw, poetic and powerful voice, Jollett portrays a childhood filled with abject poverty, trauma, emotional abuse, delinquency and the lure of drugs and alcohol. Raised by a clinically depressed mother, tormented by his angry older brother, subjected to the unpredictability of troubled step-fathers and longing for contact with his father, a former heroin addict and ex-con, Jollett slowly, often painfully, builds a life that leads him to Stanford University and, eventually, to finding his voice as a writer and musician, forming the band The Airborne Toxic Event.

Read More Read Less

Praise for Hollywood Park

  • A memoir that is dangerous, immediate and lyrical from the jump. - Wall Street Journal

  • A Gen-X This Boy's Life...Music and his fierce brilliance boost Jollett; a visceral urge to leave his background behind propels him to excel... In the end, Jollett shakes off the past to become the captain of his own soul. Hollywood Park is a triumph. - O, The Oprah Magazine

  • Amazing. Mikel Jollett takes the shards of a broken childhood - imagine a life where escaping from a violent cult is somehow not a path to safety - and makes it a universal story of the struggle to find connection in a brutally beautiful world. His story zigs where you think it's going to zag, and even the most irredeemable characters somehow surprise us with their tenacity. It's a complicated story with a simple payoff: this is how the light gets in, this is how an artist gets made. - GLEN DAVID GOLD, author of Carter Beats the Devil

  • Engaging and heartbreaking. A good choice for fans of memoirs about overcoming dysfunctional childhoods like Educated and The Glass Castle. - Booklist

  • The frontman of rock band Airborne Toxic Event chronicles, in gorgeous and exacting lyricism, his harrowing coming-of-age within (and eventual escape from) the Church of Synanon, a violent religious cult. - O, The Oprah Magazine, The 30 Most Anticipated Books of 2020 (so Far)

  • A painstaking emotional accounting of a tortured youth ultimately redeemed through music, therapy, and love. - Kirkus, STARRED REVIEW

  • Jollett's story serves as a potent reminder that while we cannot change the hand we're dealt, our freedom lies in what we choose to do with those cards. - Adrienne Brodeur, author of Wild Game, THE MILLIONS

Read More Read Less
This website uses cookies. Using this website means you are okay with this but you can find out more and learn how to manage your cookie choices here.Close cookie policy overlay